Ricotta Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Oh my, this is so wonderful. It's light and delicious. I made it in two 8" square pans and only used 1/2 the ricotta mix, as I didn't want it to bake over the tops of the pans. I added 1 tsp almond extract to the cake mix, and and sprinkled some fresh blueberries over the cake mix. Then I combined almond, lemon and vanilla into 1 tsp and added very well drained crushed pineapple to the ricotta mix. I'm sure it would also have been 5 Stars without my changes. Thank you, Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Made this for guests last night and it was a huge success. I had concerns because at least one doesn't like cheesecake or ricotta. They all asked me to make it again. I followed the directions, using 3 of the eggs in the cake mix and one mixed into the 2-15 oz containers of ricotta. I resisted the urge to reduce the sugar and was glad because the sweetness was perfect. I also baked it in an Angel Food cake tube pan and added a cup of fresh blueberries. Didn't need to adjust the baking time or temp. Let it cool in the fridge while I made dinner, sprinkled powdered sugar on top and it was beautiful. The blueberries were scattered throughout, not at the bottom (top once flipped out of pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Mistakingly used 7 eggs. Baked it in a bund the pan, took it out after 1:25, it was way too brown, smelled burnt, and not done on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Dye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I found the directions difficult to follow. I am happy with how mine came out all in all, but I will still search and try others on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d_cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The ricotta didn't sink, instead it seemed to evaporate? What little was left stayed on top. The cake layer dried out really bad. Thankfully I put chocolate chips in one side and berries in the other, the added flavors kind of salvaged it. Kind of. Wasn't horrible but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made the recipe as is except I used a lemon cake mix. In case there is any confusion, I used a total of 7 eggs. 3 in the cake mix and 4 in the ricotta. I made a simple blueberry sauce to server over it. The cake is moist and delicious. Raves from the crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndie Stevens
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious. So easy to make. Didn't change a thing. My husband dies not like ricotta so I didn't tell him it was in there. He just asked. Why is this so moist and I said cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Love this! I goofed and only bought one pound of ricotta and we didn't have any vanilla so my daughter used almond extract. The was excellent! It is now my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I make a small improvement to this cake too. I, too, only use half of the ricotta cheese amount but I also make this change. Ten minutes before the end of the cooking time, I mix 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar with 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and sprinkle this mixture over the top of the unfinished cake. Then I put the cake back into the oven to finish baking. This is a nice little addition to a vanilla cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My sister made it for our uncle's birthday party and it was a hit!!!! I think she made it with 3 eggs and it worked...Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States