Rico's Passionate Pink Honey Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I took a small detour from the recipe the second time I made it. It was great the first time, but more than amazing the second time. I mixed a cup and a half of sugar with probably 20 raspberries and a small amount of strawberry extract. I added two tablespoons of honey and a half a cup of brown sugar. I then added 3/4s cup of water and boiled it over the stove. After it was boiling, I whisked it so the raspberries broke up into just the seeds. When it was starting to foam, I turned the heat off and let it sit for about 15 minutes. Meanwhile, I put a cup of lime juice into a standard sized container and added 7 cups of water. Then I added about a tablespoon of honey and let that dissolve in it. I added 6 slices of lemon. After that sat as long as the loose syrup on the stove, I strained the syrup. This takes out all of the raspberry seeds so you don't have to chew them. Then I poured it into the container with the lime juice, lemons, and water, mixed it up, and served it right away in a glass of ice. The family raved. I found this is really tasty, and only slightly deviating from your basic recipe. Try it out! It's really good. Thanks for the idea/recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was very good, I tried a short cut with bottled lemon juice, and it turned out a little tart, I had to make extra 'sweetner' to balance it out, but I think that it would have worked fine if I had squeezed the lemons my self
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Made a triple vat of this for a cook out -then had to make more! Had about a quart left, so I put it in the ice cream maker to make a sorbet. Served with a simple sugar cookie and it made a dessert my family raved over. Thanks, Rico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' 2nite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Very good! I like the slight honey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was a great idea, but if you want pink not brown syrup, just use white sugar instead! Very good, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sumcreativecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
It was okay, different than that I had expected. I wouldn't call it a lemonade but more of a tropical fruit punch. I made it up for Easter Dinner with our friends. I likely will not make again. I didn't have all the lemon juice, but did as others had done - added more orange, and lime slices to it. Mine also is the ugly brown shade (not attractive). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Hall Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I liked this recipe and it was a nice summer treat. The first time I made it was in the winter and very sour. And in the summer it came out sweet. So i guess it depends on the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
yummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
this was ok I thought it called for too much lemon juice which made it too sour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I didn't have enough fresh lemons so I used a combo of limes, lemons & oranges. Also, it may have been because I used dark brown sugar, (all I had) but mine didn't have the pretty pink color that the photo has...mine was a muddy brown color. :o( Next time, I'll use light brown sugar & see if it corrects that. I strained teh strawberries out as they were pretty mushy but I added fresh slices to the prepared lemonade as a garnish. I think next time, I will use more strawberries in teh simple syrup to get more strawberry flavor. THanks for the recipe Rico...my grands & I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States