Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is the best buttercream I have ever made!! I did follow suggestions of others. I used 4 oz. of heavy cream, 6 c. powdered sugar, 1/2 Crisco 1/2 unsalted butter (cause it was all I had). Because I only had unsalted butter, I added another 1/4 t. of salt. DO NOT USE cheap shortening. It is not solid enough and the frosting will be too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mesandberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Southern Lady Cook
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Very sweet, yummy, and simple. Used my Kitchen Aid mixer for ten minutes....very good. See my pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I too used half butter and half shortening. The taste was amazing. I frosted my grandsons 1st bday cake with it...the only thing I didn't like is that it was too greasy to wash off of him!! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Only use 1/2 to 3/4 cup cream 1 cup shorting and 1 Cup butter Soooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Great recipe, I used a stand mixer, used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening, and I also added about 3 Tbsp. cocoa powder to make chocolate frosting. (Made 1/2 the recipe) It went over well on my dark chocolate cupcakes - I will defnitely be keeping this recipe and using it again! Edited to add... Each time I made this (chocolate version), I kept adding more cocoa powder - it's really great if you add 1 cup for dark chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Did not like this. Left your mouth way to greasy feeling and had no flaver. Sorry, I'll go back to my cooked frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I am not a big fan of super sweet frostings, so this was a bit sweet for me, even after halving the sugar. The texture was really great, though! I made a variation using peanut butter (subbed butter and peanut butter for some of the shortening), and it was very smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I did as others suggested: half butter and half shortening, which was perfect. The consistency is great as well is the taste. A little sweet for me - but isn't all buttercream like that? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe!!! I followed Joslyn's advice and used 1 c. butter and 1 c. shortening! Perfect for spreading and decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Great recipe! This is the best American style buttercream I have found yet! Thank you! God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States