Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very very good. Will make this my standard frosting. I did take the suggestion of other reviewers and used 1 cup of shortening and 1 cup of butter. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Terrible frosting, almost unedible. Will never make frosting with shortening again, on the other hand using the heavy cream made it better. Next time butter, heavy cream, vanilla and powered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memalorie
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
So where's the butter in the "Buttercream"? It should be called Shortening cream. There are several of this very same recipe on this site, and all of them use shortening. Since I don't tolerate shortening very well (it adheres to my arteries like plaster!), I began using butter instead of shortening and it tastes much better. (My cholesterol levels are lower, too, since I began to use butter instead of margarine or shortening). It is slightly less white, but not enough that most people would even notice, and there is an icing whitener that can be added if one wants pure white. The butter needs to be softened a bit before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I have used this recipe many times. As others have stated, I sub half the shortening with butter. I beat the butter and shortening for about 10 minutes. I think that is the key to good frosting, although if you are piping. you may experience air pockets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This frosting is the perfect frosting as long as you use 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter. Is great for cake decorating!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have been looking for a great frosting recipe and this is it. I also used half butter and half shortening and only used 6 c. sugar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I mixed this up to use on my Christmas Cookies. I would not recommend using it on cookies, it doesn't dry so you can't stack the cookies. After doing a few, I stuck it in the 'fridge and went back to my standard, milk, butter and conf. sugar frosting. This looks great and is really fluffy, but it's mainly because of all the crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbehaving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by annab3ar
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is my go to recipe for frosting from now on. I made cupcakes for the children attending my sister's wedding and everyone agreed the frosting was amazing! Phenomenal Frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Not bad! For my husband's birthday, I always make the usual - a chocolate cake (One Bowl Chocolate Cake on this site is his FAVORITE!) covered with vanilla frosting. I've tried a TON of frosting recipes on here (it seems as if I've made every one on this site lol!), but none have *quite* met my expectations. They were either too sweet, not nearly creamy / fluffy enough (for my liking) or hardened (slightly) after setting up (the vanilla-chocolate powdered sugar frosting submitted by Anonymous is SUPER yummy, but does not have any volume to it and hardens after a day or two - which I do NOT like). Rick's frosting is not only perfectly sweetened (it's not AS sweet as some of the others I've tried), it spreads BEAUTIFULLY and stays fluffy-soft for days!!! FYI, a half batch of this yielded MORE than enough to frost a double layered round cake with a tad leftover. If you are looking for an excellent, all-purpose buttercream frosting, search no farther. This is THE best one yet! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Rick. I think I can confidently say, my search for the perfect vanilla frosting is finally over! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States