Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Really good. I'd give it 4 1/2 stars if that were an option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
It was pretty good. I'm not really a fan of the taste of buttercream in general but it is great for decorating which is what I needed it for. It was perfect for decorating. Perfectly stiff and held the shape wonderfully. I took the advise of others and did half butter and half crisco but I still felt like I could kind of taste the crisco in it. Next time, I will use half butter and half butter flavored crisco. All in all a good recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
mmmmmmm yummy! Half butter/half shortening makes the best combination for taste and texture in my opinion. 1M Cupcake Swirl people- you will need this full recipe to swirl on a boxed mix worth of cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Finally I found a recipe that's not too sweet, not too buttery but just right. I've been looking for a vanilla buttercream frosting forever. This is it! I substituted the shortening for 1 1/2 sticks of butter, and 1/4 cup of shortening (makes it a little fluffy and less buttery and greasy). I will use this frosting forever! THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jakesmomma
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This frosting was delicious and went over extremely well! I made a tiered cake and this recipe covered one 4-layer 6 inch cake and one 3-layer 9 inch cake, so it makes a lot! It did make it the night before and put it in the fridge and I panicked when I pulled it out to frost the cake and it was one big solid lump of frosting. I defrosted a little bit at the time in the microwave and it softened up and looked and tasted great on the cake! I made another half batch for piping and flowers and the consistency was perfect at first. It does get very soft with heat, I would use a little at a time unless you want mushy flowers. Overall, a definite make again, I’ll keep this in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Can you say YUM?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New York, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was good and held its shape nicely, but next time I will try with half butter, half shortening as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was fabulous frosting! I halved the recipe and still had enough (and to spare) for 2 batches of sugar cookies. I also did as others suggested and substituted half the shortening for butter and then used almond extract instead of vanilla and found I only needed half the amount of whipping cream. But it was sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Sorry, but this just didn't work for me. It was sweet, but didn't taste like butter and the texture was a little too fluffy. I just prefer more density. I could see how some would like it, just not my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States