Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Finally I found a recipe that's not too sweet, not too buttery but just right. I've been looking for a vanilla buttercream frosting forever. This is it! I substituted the shortening for 1 1/2 sticks of butter, and 1/4 cup of shortening (makes it a little fluffy and less buttery and greasy). I will use this frosting forever! THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jakesmomma
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This frosting was delicious and went over extremely well! I made a tiered cake and this recipe covered one 4-layer 6 inch cake and one 3-layer 9 inch cake, so it makes a lot! It did make it the night before and put it in the fridge and I panicked when I pulled it out to frost the cake and it was one big solid lump of frosting. I defrosted a little bit at the time in the microwave and it softened up and looked and tasted great on the cake! I made another half batch for piping and flowers and the consistency was perfect at first. It does get very soft with heat, I would use a little at a time unless you want mushy flowers. Overall, a definite make again, I’ll keep this in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Can you say YUM?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New York, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was good and held its shape nicely, but next time I will try with half butter, half shortening as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was fabulous frosting! I halved the recipe and still had enough (and to spare) for 2 batches of sugar cookies. I also did as others suggested and substituted half the shortening for butter and then used almond extract instead of vanilla and found I only needed half the amount of whipping cream. But it was sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Sorry, but this just didn't work for me. It was sweet, but didn't taste like butter and the texture was a little too fluffy. I just prefer more density. I could see how some would like it, just not my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
8 cup's sugar? This must be a joke. I tried this frosting and came up to 3 cups and it was getting way too sweet. I substituted 1 cup butter to get a more buttery taste. it worked great for frosting a smooth cake. easy to decorate too. but way too much sugar. If you do cut the sugar, you have to cut the salt as well. a pinch is enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Outstanding frosting! Like a lot of other reviewers, I subbed half of the shortening with butter (real, unsalted). I made half a recipe, which was enough to frost 24 cupcakes. I used it to frost the Sweetheart Cupcakes from this site, so I added some red coloring to make it pink and added 1 tsp. raspberry flavoring. It was so easy to pipe and I was happy because the sprinkles actually stuck to the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
By far the easiest and best tasting buttercream recipe I have made. As with any recipe, you may need to add a little more powdered sugar to get the right consistency, but very easy to make and I frosted a 3 layer stacked cake and had leftover frosting. Will use this on sugar cookies and again, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States