Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Oh my goodness! This was the best frosting I have ever tasted! My family loved it, and I can't wait to make another cake to use it again. Like others, I used half shortening and have butter. It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
yummmmm! love it!!! This is the Best Buttercream ever!!! will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
WOW!!!!! This recipe is OUTSTANDING! I followed it to the "T" just the way Rick posted it!! I always made the Wilton "decorating class buttercream" I never fell completely in love with it, because it was waaay to sweet to the point we would sometimes scrape it off our cakes/cupcakes, but this one is amazing, the sweetness level is perfect, it spreads easy, and it is very easy to make. (the only thing is that is too thin for flowers and stuff, I don't think it would be good for such decorations, maybe if you put a little less heavy cream so is not as "thin" - I will try that and will let you know) {That's just my opinion, maybe it works for flowers just the way it is, I just got the impression that it probably wouldn't.} This recipe is a keeper, thanks Rick!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bibi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Buttercream frosting is not really my favorite but this was good. Everyone liked and it was super easy to make and tasted great. I did use half butter and half crisco and creamed butter/crisco for 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Great butter cream recipe - especially if you're uncomfortable using raw egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakin' Me Crazy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boylston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I love this recipe this is the second time Ive made it, the first was for the super bowl party ...an ice your own cupcake bar....and everyone raved going back for 3rds and fourths. I used half butter half butter flavored shortening and next time I think i will take the salt and mull it first. I think the salt grains were a little to big and didnt blend to well but not a biggie, I also instead of using 8 cups of sugar used 4-4.5 cups. It will always be my go to frosting recipe ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is a great buttercream recipe. I too, have tried many and really like this one. Like many others, I used half butter-flavored shortening. This recipe is a great jumping off point for adding flavors, and other tweaks. Lovely, thank you Rick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I used half shortening and half butter.....Best butter cream ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Really good. I'd give it 4 1/2 stars if that were an option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
It was pretty good. I'm not really a fan of the taste of buttercream in general but it is great for decorating which is what I needed it for. It was perfect for decorating. Perfectly stiff and held the shape wonderfully. I took the advise of others and did half butter and half crisco but I still felt like I could kind of taste the crisco in it. Next time, I will use half butter and half butter flavored crisco. All in all a good recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States