Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I used half butter and half shortening. I beat the butter and shortening for 10 minutes on the recommendation for other reviewers here. The taste of the icing was good, but it was too loose. Even when I added extra powdered sugar to try to stiffen it up, the frosting was just too loose. I feel like beating the butter and shortening for so long is what was causing the looseness of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I don't like those frostings that have an overwhelmingly "powdered sugar-y" flavor. I made the recipe with the only substitution of 1/2 butter, 1/2 Crisco, and used all 8 oz heavy cream. I used all 8 cups powdered sugar, and I probably shouldn't have. I made half chocolate by adding 1/2 cup cocoa powder, and I liked that version better. The cocoa powder reduced the "powdered sugar" flavor for me. Next time, I'll make a half-recipe (this made a LOT!) and use less powdered sugar. But I will try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I would rate this recipe as stated 5 stars for texture, and 1 for flavor. I followed the recipe as stated and I was not impressed with the flavor. It didn't have much flavor, despite the vanilla and large quanties of sugar. I made the recipe again using butter flavored shortening. It wan't any better. The butter flavor was present, but I didn't care for it. I could taste the salt in both recipes. It was a little mind boggling how so much sugar could result in so little flavor and yet so little salt could be tasted. The Wilton buttercream recipe found for free on their website is the one my husband and I both prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This rating is actually for the customized version of this recipe- use "Dorothy's Special Buttercream Frosting"!!! It's just a variation of this one and it tastes wonderful and is perfect for piping without being too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMiriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This wasn't the best buttercream I've ever made, but it was good. I used half shortening, half butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This frosting did work nicely as far as frosting a cake BUT, I was not impressed with the flavor, or should I say, lack there of! I did get a lot of compliments on it but I probably will not use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnygeb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This is the stuff! I used this to ice and decorate a cake and cupcakes last night. I used 1 c. butter and 1 c. crisco, but it's the cream that makes this recipe. This recipe is now my go-to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This made enough for 32 mini cupcakes with some leftover. I took some advice from previous reviews to substitute half of the shortening for butter, I wish I substituted all of the shortening. Shortening just tastes artificial to me. Next time I'll use all butter. Also, I only used 4 cups of powdered sugar and it was sweet enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I use the butter-flavored shortening instead of the regular shortening. Amazing. Best buttercream frosting ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is a great recipe! I added clear butter, almond and vanilla. the texture is perfect and it is great to work with! I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Security

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States