Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written and I give it 4 stars. It has a light fluffy texture and a sweet and creamy flavor. My only qualms were that I wish it has a bit more butter flavor, so next time I think I will do half shortening and half butter as other reviewers have mentioned. Otherwise, is it pretty good and the consistency is great for piping and cupcake decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hallensd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by simplydi
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Yummy! Thanks! My frosting of choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This frosting is just heaven. I don't know what else to say. I made a half batch and also used half butter as suggested by others. Other than that I followed directions exactly. Half batch made enough to thickly cover a 9x13 cake. It is also very rich in my opinion so if you don't like that you may need to adjust accordingly. But I will definately be using this from now on. Thank you Rick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkindee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Turned out a bit chunky.........But good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was the first buttercream frosting that I have ever made and I did use the suggestions by JOSLYN H....and I must say, I will definitely be using this recipe again and again! All of our guests just raved about the frosting, they said it was "bakery quality" frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vivelle90
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Made it with all butter and only needed 6.5 cups sugar, nice and light! Enough for 50 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is one fantastic frosting recipe! After reading some of the other reviews I made the following changes: 1 1/2 cups (salted) butter, 1/2 cup shortening; 1 box powdered sugar, and 5 ounces whipping cream. Be sure to omit salt in the recipe as the butter is salty enough and whip for at least 10 minutes before adding sugar, vanilla & cream, then whip for 5 minutes more. Light and not at all greasy tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I have to compliment this recipe I used it for a strawberry shortcake cake I made for the 4th of July party i was going to and I needed something more stable than regular whipped cream frosting and something that would not overwhelm the simplicity of a strawberry shortcake cake, I did just add the sugar to taste as I went and I used a little more than a cup of whipping cream but the flavor and texture where perfect , It held up for decorating and frosting went on so smooth and flawlessly, I recieved compliments all night long on this cake , This recipe is definatly a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
My new favorite frosting! Soo tasty and unique. Little tough to work with because it melts a bit, but definitely makes up for in taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywood21691

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
VERY GOOD, not too sweet like some frostings. Kids and hubby all said "save that recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States