Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is the best buttercream frosting I have made and I have made quite a lot of frosting :). I have gotten a lot of compliments on it and will definitely be making it again and again. It is great for cake decorating (which I do a lot of). Highly recommend it, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23cuties

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
RECIPES IS GOOD BUT IF YOU WANT THE BUTTERCREAM TO STAY WHITE....USE CLEAR FLAVORING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Instead of all shortening, I did 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of shortening, it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
HELPFUL TIPS: The first reviewer helped this good recipe become perfect. My family HATESSS icing so for them to say oh my god ...heavenly ....says a lot. I did 6 c sugar, 2t vanilla, and probably used more like 3/4c heavy cream WITH the recommended 10 min. beating time. You never know what you're missing until you taste this BEFORE the 10 minute mix ...and then AFTER. I gained 5 lbs just from licking the dang stuff. Seriously... (oh and one more thing. this already has a very apparent butter taste to it. greasy definitely would define ALL shortening. do half shortening, half salted butter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Only made half a recipe and frosted 24 cupcakes and still had almost 2 cups of frosting left. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 butter flavored Crisco. Also melted 1/2 cup of chocolate morsels and added to make chocolate frosting. A little on the sweet side but was smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Fischer
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Love this recipe! Works wonderfully for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Fischer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great Base icing.... i made mine into Eggnogg buttercream icing! and chocolate mint icing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This frosting was good, but a little greasy and not as fluffy as I had thought it would be. Good basic recipe, but not much punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I love the frosting because its nice and creamy so i just love it............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasa
Photo by SMClanton
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
10 stars for icing! taste just like a bakery.(except better) i did use half butter and half shortening. i cut the recipe in half for 24 cupcakes and still had a ton left over, so the recipe makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States