Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
It was smile to make and is wonderful to work with. IF living in a very humid area (e.g. FL where I live) I would suggest on real humid days you maybe add ¼ c of cream at first then slowly adding more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliCat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I'm probably the only one but I didn't like the taste that much. I still gave it 4 stars because of the consistency. I did make a change like others have with the shortening. I used 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening. I beat it forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I have had frosting before with shortening in it and I have enjoyed it. All tho everyone else liked it. I was not a fan of it. =/ It had to much of that shortening taste. If I make it again which I may do because I will always try something twice. But I may go with the with 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening idea to get that BUTTER melt in your mouth frosting YUM! Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyoftwo247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I use all butter instead of shortening. I don't use as much heavy cream but rather add it slowly by tablespoonfuls until I reach a consistency that I want to work with. I also cut back on the amount of salt, unless I'm using unsalted butter. I add 1/4 teaspoon of almond flavoring as well, and if the weather is especially humid, I add a tablespoon of meringue powder to help stabilize the icing, since I'm only using butter. I also make sure I sift the powdered sugar before I add it. I've made this recipe many times and it's quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
It turned out perfect my family loved it. No more store frosting. Very easy to make. I did half butter and half Crisco flavored shortening. I did cream butter and shorting for ten minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
i absolutely llooooovvveeee this recipe it always works!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Usually I'm not a fan of buttercream frosting because of the texture. This buttercream is AMAZING! Smoothe, fluffy, and great tasting. I used just butter (no shortening) and only 6 cups of powdered sugar. Not too sweet with no salt added. This recipe makes a ton. Half a batch easily frosted. 5 dozen Chritmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is my staple buttercream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Great recipe as is. Perfect with a little extra flavoring/extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
amazing! Followed same as others..half salted butter, half crisco, omit additional salt, 6 cups powder sugar and 5oz heavy cream! I think this is the best frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States