Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This is close to my own recipe but I've always used all butter. I was never quite happy with the results because the frosting was always a bit too sweet for me. Following Rick's recipe, but using half salted butter & half regular Crisco, 6 cups of confectioners sugar, about 4 to 5 ounces of heavy whipping cream and 2 teaspoons of pure Vanilla, I found the PERFECT BLEND. Great spreading consistency and just sweet enough. The Crisco seems to cut the sweetness, while giving the frosting a bit more stability, which is great if you're going to use it for piping borders around a cake or making rosettes and leaves on top. Be sure to beat the frosting with an electric mixer on high speed, a minimum of 10 minutes, or until nice and fluffy. Had enough to GENEROUSLY frost 24 cupcakes, with about 2 cups left over. Can‘t believe using Crisco would make all the difference. Thanks Rick! *UPDATE 1: The whipping cream is a MUST! I forgot to buy whipping cream and used milk instead, big mistake... the frosting wasn't as fluffy and creamy. *UPDATE 2: I wanted a peanut butter frosting for a Reese's chocolate cake I was making, so I added in 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter with the Crisco and butter. Turned out great, with just enough of a peanut butter taste to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
826 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Truly an exceptional frosting, especially when butter is substituted for half of the shortening. Not too sweet, with a fluffy, creamy texture. There are infinite possibilites for a variety of flavorings and add-ins. It was a generous amount to fill and frost a 3 layer 9-inch cake. A real keeper and will be used over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Awesome butterceam frosting! I used half butter and half butter flavored shortening. I also used half the amount of cream and as other's have stated, add it until you get the desired consistency. You can definitley play with this one. I added 1/4 cup of real maple syrup for a maple buttercream and used it to frost cupcakes made from "Nutmeg Feather Cake" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
This was great. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 crisco and about 6 cups of sugar (and still wasn't too sweet). This frosting has an incredibly smooth spreading consistancy, yet is strong enough to hold a shape if piped as border/edging. It makes a ton, too. I frosted and decorated a 4 layer 8-inch cake and still had about 1-1/2 cups leftover. THIS IS MY NEW FROSTING OF CHOICE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Fantastic buttercream frosting, I do however use butter in place of shortening to keep from getting the greasy feel you get. Super YUM! Make sure you whip the butter adequately to get it aerated enough before you add the sugar so its super fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortstuff2u_21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2000
I have been on a search for the ultimate decorator icing and this is it (I've tried dozens)! This icing is wonderful!! I even used it for roses and figure piping (clowns) without a problem. It is much less sweet than many of the buttercreams. Note: I used half Crisco and half butter for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
This recipe is similar to the SPECIAL BUTTERCREAM FROSTING RECIPE also submitted by Rick (slightly diff. recipe with cream) - This is a GREAT RECIPE however I STRONGLY recommend using half unsalted butter for half the shortening and only 5 cups sifted powdered sugar (otherwise it would be much too sweet). I also used real vanilla powder (less color than extract). With 6oz heavy cream instead of the milk, it becomes a terrificly rich, light and fluffy frosting that spreads beautifully. You could beat in slightly more sugar to part of the finished frosting if you want to use it to pipe roses (but don't use that much sugar to cover the whole cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was the recipe I was looking for! I used 1 1/2 C. butter to 1/2 cup shortening and one large bag of confectioners sugar (6 cups). It was perfect for decorating with and never got too soft. Plus it tastes great. I'll always use it when I'm decorating a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REBEKAHMO
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Excellent. I made it for a train cake for my son's birthday, it frosted and decorated 2 cake mixes with a little left over. Will definitely make again. I did use half butter, half shortening. I loved another reviewer's tip to beat the shortening/butter on high for 10 minutes before adding sugar. It makes the frosting so light and not greasy. Also, I have used 2% milk instead of the cream with equally delicious results. 3/2/08 Update: This is the standard birthday cake frosting for our family. Everyone who has tried it says it's the best frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I've tried so many and this one beats them all. As a fresh variation, I substitute fresh strained orange juice for 1/2 the cream and add 1 tsp grated orange rind--it's delicious! Add cream with care--it can become too mushy for proper cake decorating if you use it all. Subtract 1-2 Tbsp and it'll be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States