Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2000
I have been on a search for the ultimate decorator icing and this is it (I've tried dozens)! This icing is wonderful!! I even used it for roses and figure piping (clowns) without a problem. It is much less sweet than many of the buttercreams. Note: I used half Crisco and half butter for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
Thanks Rick, what a great frosting !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
This recipe is similar to the SPECIAL BUTTERCREAM FROSTING RECIPE also submitted by Rick (slightly diff. recipe with cream) - This is a GREAT RECIPE however I STRONGLY recommend using half unsalted butter for half the shortening and only 5 cups sifted powdered sugar (otherwise it would be much too sweet). I also used real vanilla powder (less color than extract). With 6oz heavy cream instead of the milk, it becomes a terrificly rich, light and fluffy frosting that spreads beautifully. You could beat in slightly more sugar to part of the finished frosting if you want to use it to pipe roses (but don't use that much sugar to cover the whole cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
I really liked this frosting. I used half of the recipe, and added 1/4 c of cocoa and 1 tsp of instant coffee for a mocha flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Rick, YOU GO BOY! I have tried soooo many buttercream recipes & they all turn out bad. But this one is excellent! (I used 5 cups of sugar instead of 8, going off of the advice from other reviewers)I used this icing for a baby shower cake & I recieved tons of compliments. For everyone else checking out recipes for frosting, This is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Thank you so much Rick! I have been looking for the perfect frosting recipe for years! When I was little my mom used to buy these incredible birthday cakes from the bakery - the icing was the best part, and this is it!! It is perfect for decorating as well! Upon advice from the other reviewers I used: 1 cup shortening and 1 cup butter (unsalted); I also only used 5 cups of the icing sugar and about 3/4 cup whipping cream. I know, I know, modifications..... but it turned out wonderfully - highly recommmended for bakery quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
This was great. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 crisco and about 6 cups of sugar (and still wasn't too sweet). This frosting has an incredibly smooth spreading consistancy, yet is strong enough to hold a shape if piped as border/edging. It makes a ton, too. I frosted and decorated a 4 layer 8-inch cake and still had about 1-1/2 cups leftover. THIS IS MY NEW FROSTING OF CHOICE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was the recipe I was looking for! I used 1 1/2 C. butter to 1/2 cup shortening and one large bag of confectioners sugar (6 cups). It was perfect for decorating with and never got too soft. Plus it tastes great. I'll always use it when I'm decorating a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Wow! This frosting was so good. I am a skimp when it comes to sugar in the frosting because I don't like it too sweet. I love how this recipe allowed for that flexibility and was still tasty. I am trying this on my Christmas cookies this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Best recipe for icing I have found..nothing weird in it, basic ingredients whip together for a creamy delicious icing! I did add 1 teaspoon of butter flavoring.This made it superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States