Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe!!! I followed Joslyn's advice and used 1 c. butter and 1 c. shortening! Perfect for spreading and decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Great recipe! This is the best American style buttercream I have found yet! Thank you! God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Two of my favourite AllRecipes chefs ooohed and aaahed over this recipe so I was quite eager to try it. The texture and consistency came out nicely but we didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This recipe should be named "Rick's SUPREME Buttercream Frosting! It is the best tasting, lightest, fluffiest buttercream frosting I have ever eaten. The key to success with this recipe is to let it mix for a minimum of ten minutes. I used half butter/shortening, and 3/4 cup cream and got exactly the texture, taste, and consistency I was wanting. Try this, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is the best buttercream frosting I have made and I have made quite a lot of frosting :). I have gotten a lot of compliments on it and will definitely be making it again and again. It is great for cake decorating (which I do a lot of). Highly recommend it, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23cuties

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
RECIPES IS GOOD BUT IF YOU WANT THE BUTTERCREAM TO STAY WHITE....USE CLEAR FLAVORING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Instead of all shortening, I did 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of shortening, it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
HELPFUL TIPS: The first reviewer helped this good recipe become perfect. My family HATESSS icing so for them to say oh my god ...heavenly ....says a lot. I did 6 c sugar, 2t vanilla, and probably used more like 3/4c heavy cream WITH the recommended 10 min. beating time. You never know what you're missing until you taste this BEFORE the 10 minute mix ...and then AFTER. I gained 5 lbs just from licking the dang stuff. Seriously... (oh and one more thing. this already has a very apparent butter taste to it. greasy definitely would define ALL shortening. do half shortening, half salted butter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Only made half a recipe and frosted 24 cupcakes and still had almost 2 cups of frosting left. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 butter flavored Crisco. Also melted 1/2 cup of chocolate morsels and added to make chocolate frosting. A little on the sweet side but was smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Fischer
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Love this recipe! Works wonderfully for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Fischer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States