Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Use half shortening and half butter, cut the sugar by one full cup, and you've got yourself the most AMAZING frosting EVER! Seriously yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rural chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Iuka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great recipe! I've used it many times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I too used half butter, half shortening. This was a LOT of frosting. I had enough to generously frost 24 cupcakes with some left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Very greasy frosting and not as much flavor as I would like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe is AMAZING!! I always get raves about it =) Deff a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE_mygirls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was really good. I used the whole cup of whipping cream and used 1/2 butter flavor crisco and 1/2 butter. It was awesome to decorate with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Fabulous. Easy, good and stands high and proud on a cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is the best easy buttercream frosting recipe I've made. Love it! I did use only 5 cups of confectioner's sugar, however, and found it to be more than sweet enough. Also, don't forget to sift your sugar before using... I didn't and ended up with lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYSPRITE
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
My new buttercream icing recipe! The taste is so creamy-I used 1 cup shortening, 1 cup butter. Also started out with 1/4 cup of heavy cream then added more to get desired consistency, didn't quite need the total amount called for. Spreads easily and makes wonderful borders and flowers. Thank you Rick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Used half butter-flavor Crisco, half butter. This is an excellent jumping-off buttercream and would be wonderful flavored, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States