Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I just finished making this exactly as originally posted and it's delicious...OMG...the kids didn't get to lick the beaters :) I did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I followed the recipe except used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter; it had a great texture if you're using it to decorate, but it didn't taste like much to me and my daughter. She said it tasted too much like bakery frosting. To salvage it, I melted 4 squares of unsweetened baking chocolate and beat it into the frosting. My granddaughter said that made it great. I may try it again with all butter next time as I am more interested in the taste than decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I've made (and eaten) more than my fair share of buttercream frostings and I must say this is my all time favorite. I usually lean towards cream cheese frosting because I'm not crazy about buttercream, but this is my new go-to recipe. LOVE it. I did replace the shortening with butter though, so I would definitely recommend doing so...the flavor was amazing and the frosting holds its shape really well. 5+ stars from me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morganc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Turned out amazing. This was my first attempt at butter cream icing and I loved this recipe. I halved it and it was the perfect amount for 24 cupcakes(I didn't pile it as high as the picture though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I've been looking for an American Buttercream frosting that is not too sweet, creamy, but holds up well in heat and humidity. So far this one tastes wonderful. I used Hi Ratio shortening and only 6 cups of sugar and 5 ounces heavy cream. I did beat at a med high speed for a minimum of template minutes. Plan to try the as written however mine had a ton of air bubbles upon sitting at room temp for a couple of hours. Any experienced bakers/decorators know why? I would also use less salt as I could taste it and didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This is the best frosting I have ever made. I had to cut down the recipe because I didn't have enough sugar and I still had more than I needed. I felt like a kid licking the beaters! I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening, added the sugar and whipping cream slowly until I got the consistency I was looking for. I also melted some chocolate chips and drizzled the melted chocolate in as it was beating. I will never use another frosting recipe again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
So good! It comes out perfect everytime. We have even added cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetie774
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
The best frosting ever thank you so much for the great recipe. It has been on all my birthday cakes and cupcakes since I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Use half shortening and half butter, cut the sugar by one full cup, and you've got yourself the most AMAZING frosting EVER! Seriously yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rural chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Iuka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States