Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I've been looking for an American Buttercream frosting that is not too sweet, creamy, but holds up well in heat and humidity. So far this one tastes wonderful. I used Hi Ratio shortening and only 6 cups of sugar and 5 ounces heavy cream. I did beat at a med high speed for a minimum of template minutes. Plan to try the as written however mine had a ton of air bubbles upon sitting at room temp for a couple of hours. Any experienced bakers/decorators know why? I would also use less salt as I could taste it and didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This is the best frosting I have ever made. I had to cut down the recipe because I didn't have enough sugar and I still had more than I needed. I felt like a kid licking the beaters! I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening, added the sugar and whipping cream slowly until I got the consistency I was looking for. I also melted some chocolate chips and drizzled the melted chocolate in as it was beating. I will never use another frosting recipe again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
So good! It comes out perfect everytime. We have even added cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetie774
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
The best frosting ever thank you so much for the great recipe. It has been on all my birthday cakes and cupcakes since I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Use half shortening and half butter, cut the sugar by one full cup, and you've got yourself the most AMAZING frosting EVER! Seriously yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rural chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Iuka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great recipe! I've used it many times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I too used half butter, half shortening. This was a LOT of frosting. I had enough to generously frost 24 cupcakes with some left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Very greasy frosting and not as much flavor as I would like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe is AMAZING!! I always get raves about it =) Deff a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE_mygirls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was really good. I used the whole cup of whipping cream and used 1/2 butter flavor crisco and 1/2 butter. It was awesome to decorate with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States