Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have been looking for a great frosting recipe and this is it. I also used half butter and half shortening and only used 6 c. sugar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I mixed this up to use on my Christmas Cookies. I would not recommend using it on cookies, it doesn't dry so you can't stack the cookies. After doing a few, I stuck it in the 'fridge and went back to my standard, milk, butter and conf. sugar frosting. This looks great and is really fluffy, but it's mainly because of all the crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbehaving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by annab3ar
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is my go to recipe for frosting from now on. I made cupcakes for the children attending my sister's wedding and everyone agreed the frosting was amazing! Phenomenal Frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Not bad! For my husband's birthday, I always make the usual - a chocolate cake (One Bowl Chocolate Cake on this site is his FAVORITE!) covered with vanilla frosting. I've tried a TON of frosting recipes on here (it seems as if I've made every one on this site lol!), but none have *quite* met my expectations. They were either too sweet, not nearly creamy / fluffy enough (for my liking) or hardened (slightly) after setting up (the vanilla-chocolate powdered sugar frosting submitted by Anonymous is SUPER yummy, but does not have any volume to it and hardens after a day or two - which I do NOT like). Rick's frosting is not only perfectly sweetened (it's not AS sweet as some of the others I've tried), it spreads BEAUTIFULLY and stays fluffy-soft for days!!! FYI, a half batch of this yielded MORE than enough to frost a double layered round cake with a tad leftover. If you are looking for an excellent, all-purpose buttercream frosting, search no farther. This is THE best one yet! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Rick. I think I can confidently say, my search for the perfect vanilla frosting is finally over! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I made this last night minus the shortening(I didn't have any) and used all butter. This was SO easy and the flavor was incredible!! I flavored mine with a little bit of Mrs. Butterworths to make breakfast cupcakes(pancake cupcakes) and put some fruit on top.This icing is my favorite, I will never use anything else! Thanks Rick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie Babcock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toluca Lake, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and I think this is the best butter cream recipe I have ever made (and I have made many)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Not sweet enough for me. Made plenty to frost a couple dozen cupcakes as it was fluffy and decorated nicely. Even my 12 yr said it didn't taste "that great" so I trust the kids opinion. I will stick to Grocery Store Frosting Recipe here on AR right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I loved it but I have only tried it with the alternate version of using half unsalted butter and half shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is my tried and true basic go to recipe. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKHDTDEVO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I have been making buttercream icing for years and, I have to say that this is a great recipe. I did as others said and halfed the shortening and added butter for the other half. I used unsalted butter because the recipe called for salt. By the way, adding vanilla will give the icing a slightly darker tinge. If you don't want that tinge, you can use imitation (some brands call it "clear") vanilla. It gives the icing the same flavor. The one thing that I will say is that I am used to using a buttercream recipe that doesn't call for diary (i.e., the heavy whipping cream). The whipping cream gives the icing a very creamy taste and smooth texture. However, you have to make sure that you refrigerate your cake because of the diary. Buttercream icing can be made without diary and it comes out stiffer and thicker without the diary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States