Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I made this last night minus the shortening(I didn't have any) and used all butter. This was SO easy and the flavor was incredible!! I flavored mine with a little bit of Mrs. Butterworths to make breakfast cupcakes(pancake cupcakes) and put some fruit on top.This icing is my favorite, I will never use anything else! Thanks Rick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bffrlz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toluca Lake, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and I think this is the best butter cream recipe I have ever made (and I have made many)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Not sweet enough for me. Made plenty to frost a couple dozen cupcakes as it was fluffy and decorated nicely. Even my 12 yr said it didn't taste "that great" so I trust the kids opinion. I will stick to Grocery Store Frosting Recipe here on AR right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I loved it but I have only tried it with the alternate version of using half unsalted butter and half shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is my tried and true basic go to recipe. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKHDTDEVO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I have been making buttercream icing for years and, I have to say that this is a great recipe. I did as others said and halfed the shortening and added butter for the other half. I used unsalted butter because the recipe called for salt. By the way, adding vanilla will give the icing a slightly darker tinge. If you don't want that tinge, you can use imitation (some brands call it "clear") vanilla. It gives the icing the same flavor. The one thing that I will say is that I am used to using a buttercream recipe that doesn't call for diary (i.e., the heavy whipping cream). The whipping cream gives the icing a very creamy taste and smooth texture. However, you have to make sure that you refrigerate your cake because of the diary. Buttercream icing can be made without diary and it comes out stiffer and thicker without the diary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
If you use half butter and half shortening, this is a 5 star frosting. The taste is lacking and the texture is greasy unless the shortening is cut back and replaced with butter. The rest of the recipe is right on, perfect consistency for piping and holds its shape beautifully! I made 48 cupcakes for a bunch of teenagers and had frosting left over, this makes a huge batch. Several of the kids told me it was the best tasting frosting, 'ever'! Unless you are doing 2 or more cakes or 4 dozen cupcakes, I would halve this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
this worked really well. i switched one cup of shortening with one cup of butter because it just seemed wrong not to have butter in the butter cream icing. the icing tasted really good and spread very easily. it also held it's shape when i used the icing bag. i added cocoa to make it chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Reading many reviews I did a few modifications -using half butter - 1 cup less sugar - the frosting was a hit - very well received for my granddaughter's first birthday! I used edible glitter - great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
The difference between this recipe and other buttercream frosting is the heavy whipping cream. It is over-the-top fantastic! This has replaced my standard recipe that I have used for decades!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States