Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Great Icing! but using half salted butter & half regular Crisco, 6 cups of confectioners sugar, about 4 to 5 ounces of heavy whipping cream and 2 teaspoons of pure Vanilla made it easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Just me but I think Buttercream frosting should have butter in it :) so I just change the shortening to 1 cup and 1 cup butter...It is delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I have finally found my perfect BASE frosting recipe!!! Thank you Rick! :). I modified this to be a vanilla bean frosting by grating 1/2 bourbon-soaked vanilla bean, 2 full tsp of pure vanilla, organic cream (makes a flavor difference), and 1/2 c butter with the rest butter-flavored Crisco when I made an 8 serving batch. It was AWESOME! This is the first buttercream frosting I've found that is not too buttery or greasy. Can't wait to try it with cocoa, irish cream or kahlua!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I love this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I added this recipe to my "recipe box" n 2009. It is the only buttercream recipe I have used since. I do sometimes change out the shortening for 1/2 shortening 1/2 butter. Thanks Rick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made it exactly the way described. It was blah. I will continue to use half butter and half shortening. It is a great recipe if you are looking to just use for decorating a cake with flowers, borders ect. But as a new frosting I used, most friends found it a bit bland when I used it on their cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This recipe was great! Like most everyone else who had a 5-star review, I did make a few changes. Instead of powdered sugar I used egg whites, and I replaced the shortening with a half-and-half mixture of breadcrumbs and peanut butter. I didn't have any heavy whipping cream so I subbed 1/2 cup of coffee granules. WHY rate a recipe 5 stars if you changed it? It's not a 5-star recipe if you didn't follow the recipe! Ok, to be fair, I have made a similar frosting, but prefer a buttercream with actual butter in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very very good. Will make this my standard frosting. I did take the suggestion of other reviewers and used 1 cup of shortening and 1 cup of butter. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Next time butter, heavy cream, vanilla and powered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memalorie

Displaying results 21-30 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States