Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Wonderful buttercream frosting. As recommended by many I used 1 cup salted butter and 1 cup shortening. I did however follow true to the remainder of the recipe. No over powering sweetness and perfect consistency for piping and frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bgreene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaSuga
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe with great consistency. The only thing I changed was I used 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of shortening instead of 2 cups of shortening. Also, I think next time I am going to use less sugar because I prefer a lighter taste, although it does taste a lot less sugary than the pre made frosting that you buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I'll be a dissenting voice and say, as written, this frosting is NOT great. Nearly all of the most helpful reviews (all 5-star reviews too) had significant changes made, most importantly incorporating butter. I wanted to make this as written the first time, and while it's not the worst thing I've ever tasted or anything, it's certainly not amazing. The reviews ARE helpful, but the recipe as is is just okay to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Beyond awesome! I did 1 cup shortening, 1 cup butter as suggested. And, I beat the crud out of the shortening/butter and after adding the powdered sugar. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NikkiA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Excellent buttercream frosting! I also used 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening. Great for frosting cupcakes. Everyone said they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
accidentally doubled the amount of whipping cream, but turned out great just the same. very easy to use frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
EXACTLY the buttercream recipe I have been trying to find for years. Instead of 2 cups shortening I did 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of shortening. I also only did about 6 oz of the heavy whipping cream. I only added about 7 cups of the conf sugar as well. Although 8 cups would have been good too. I also threw in a dash of salt as salt makes it a littel sweeter, a weird but true fact I learned in cake decorating class. Had a great consistency for decorating. i will use this recipe again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillcasey84
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very tasty frosting...I used half shortening, half salted butter (omitting the 1/2 tsp. salt called for in the recipe). I whipped this up for about 10-15 minutes in my standmixer and it was soo yummy! I also halved the recipe, which was just enough to frost a double layer 9 inch cake :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillcasey84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Fantastic taste & texture! And it was easy with the help of my kitchenaid mixer. I used 6 oz of heavy cream and next time would cut back to 4 oz for a stiffer consistency for bag decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmith612

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I loved this buttercream although I used all butter, in place of the shortening (I am not a fan of shortening) very easy to make and pipe. Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 181-190 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States