Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Beyond awesome! I did 1 cup shortening, 1 cup butter as suggested. And, I beat the crud out of the shortening/butter and after adding the powdered sugar. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NikkiA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Excellent buttercream frosting! I also used 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening. Great for frosting cupcakes. Everyone said they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
accidentally doubled the amount of whipping cream, but turned out great just the same. very easy to use frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
EXACTLY the buttercream recipe I have been trying to find for years. Instead of 2 cups shortening I did 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of shortening. I also only did about 6 oz of the heavy whipping cream. I only added about 7 cups of the conf sugar as well. Although 8 cups would have been good too. I also threw in a dash of salt as salt makes it a littel sweeter, a weird but true fact I learned in cake decorating class. Had a great consistency for decorating. i will use this recipe again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillcasey84
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very tasty frosting...I used half shortening, half salted butter (omitting the 1/2 tsp. salt called for in the recipe). I whipped this up for about 10-15 minutes in my standmixer and it was soo yummy! I also halved the recipe, which was just enough to frost a double layer 9 inch cake :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillcasey84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Fantastic taste & texture! And it was easy with the help of my kitchenaid mixer. I used 6 oz of heavy cream and next time would cut back to 4 oz for a stiffer consistency for bag decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmith612

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I loved this buttercream although I used all butter, in place of the shortening (I am not a fan of shortening) very easy to make and pipe. Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Great buttercream...next time I will try less shortening. THANK YOU RICK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Loved this frosting. I used half butter and half shortening. I do not care for the taste of frosting but those that ate it said it was good not overly sweet like commercial frostings tend to be. It was easy to pipe and held shape well. Will definitely be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This worked great on my cake with 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States