Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I did half butter, half shortening (I know, I know you should ONLY review the recipe as written but buttercream really does need BUTTER) and it was perfect. It got rave reviews and was easy as could be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine Conroe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I tried this twice in the last couple of days. I prefer 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. Also I cut back on the confectioner's sugar (6 cups instead of 8). And because I cut back on the sugar, I also used only 1/2 the whipping cream. It came out much better than my first batch in which I followed to the letter. Next time I make this I think I will cut down to 5 cups of sugar and see how it works out. This recipe is huge, so you may want to scale it down otherwise you will end up with too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great icing....love it!! Was able to use it for anything from cakes to cookies (all in the same batch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fisterwifey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Awesome butterceam frosting! I used half butter and half butter flavored shortening. I also used half the amount of cream and as other's have stated, add it until you get the desired consistency. You can definitley play with this one. I added 1/4 cup of real maple syrup for a maple buttercream and used it to frost cupcakes made from "Nutmeg Feather Cake" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great recipe! I did follow another reviewers advice to use i cup of shortening and one cup of butter. It was excellent! Light and buttery.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by _miche3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Sooooo GOOD! I use butter flavored shortening and spread it on Carol's "Butter Cake" for a special old-fashioned treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I'm sorry, we just didn't care for this. I took PP's hints to use half butter and half Crisco but it still tasted way too greasy to me. Plus, mine turned out too fluffy and wouldn't spread well for me! (That may be my fault, maybe I beat it for too long.) Anyway, my search for the perfect frosting will continue...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Wonderful buttercream frosting. As recommended by many I used 1 cup salted butter and 1 cup shortening. I did however follow true to the remainder of the recipe. No over powering sweetness and perfect consistency for piping and frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bgreene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaSuga
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe with great consistency. The only thing I changed was I used 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of shortening instead of 2 cups of shortening. Also, I think next time I am going to use less sugar because I prefer a lighter taste, although it does taste a lot less sugary than the pre made frosting that you buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I'll be a dissenting voice and say, as written, this frosting is NOT great. Nearly all of the most helpful reviews (all 5-star reviews too) had significant changes made, most importantly incorporating butter. I wanted to make this as written the first time, and while it's not the worst thing I've ever tasted or anything, it's certainly not amazing. The reviews ARE helpful, but the recipe as is is just okay to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States