Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was good and held its shape nicely, but next time I will try with half butter, half shortening as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was fabulous frosting! I halved the recipe and still had enough (and to spare) for 2 batches of sugar cookies. I also did as others suggested and substituted half the shortening for butter and then used almond extract instead of vanilla and found I only needed half the amount of whipping cream. But it was sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Sorry, but this just didn't work for me. It was sweet, but didn't taste like butter and the texture was a little too fluffy. I just prefer more density. I could see how some would like it, just not my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
8 cup's sugar? This must be a joke. I tried this frosting and came up to 3 cups and it was getting way too sweet. I substituted 1 cup butter to get a more buttery taste. it worked great for frosting a smooth cake. easy to decorate too. but way too much sugar. If you do cut the sugar, you have to cut the salt as well. a pinch is enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Outstanding frosting! Like a lot of other reviewers, I subbed half of the shortening with butter (real, unsalted). I made half a recipe, which was enough to frost 24 cupcakes. I used it to frost the Sweetheart Cupcakes from this site, so I added some red coloring to make it pink and added 1 tsp. raspberry flavoring. It was so easy to pipe and I was happy because the sprinkles actually stuck to the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
By far the easiest and best tasting buttercream recipe I have made. As with any recipe, you may need to add a little more powdered sugar to get the right consistency, but very easy to make and I frosted a 3 layer stacked cake and had leftover frosting. Will use this on sugar cookies and again, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Loved this! I halved it for 18 cupcakes and still had leftovers. I did 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and added cocoa powder to make chocolate. Will use on most cakes/cupcakes I make from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lthomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Camden, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This frosting is really good. It's not to sweet. I, like others, substituted 1/2 butter in place of the shortning and there isnt as much unpleasent coating of the tongue & palet in crisco. I hate that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Excellent, and so creamy and rich!!!! Caution, go slowly with the heavy whipping cream until you get the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Great frosting! I gave this recipe 4 stars because I made some changes. First, I used 1/2 crisco and 1/2 butter. I also beat the shortening/butter for 10 minutes before adding the sugar. I was overwhelmed with how much frosting this actually made. WAY more than I needed for my cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States