Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
8 cup's sugar? This must be a joke. I tried this frosting and came up to 3 cups and it was getting way too sweet. I substituted 1 cup butter to get a more buttery taste. it worked great for frosting a smooth cake. easy to decorate too. but way too much sugar. If you do cut the sugar, you have to cut the salt as well. a pinch is enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Outstanding frosting! Like a lot of other reviewers, I subbed half of the shortening with butter (real, unsalted). I made half a recipe, which was enough to frost 24 cupcakes. I used it to frost the Sweetheart Cupcakes from this site, so I added some red coloring to make it pink and added 1 tsp. raspberry flavoring. It was so easy to pipe and I was happy because the sprinkles actually stuck to the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
By far the easiest and best tasting buttercream recipe I have made. As with any recipe, you may need to add a little more powdered sugar to get the right consistency, but very easy to make and I frosted a 3 layer stacked cake and had leftover frosting. Will use this on sugar cookies and again, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Loved this! I halved it for 18 cupcakes and still had leftovers. I did 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and added cocoa powder to make chocolate. Will use on most cakes/cupcakes I make from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lthomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Camden, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This frosting is really good. It's not to sweet. I, like others, substituted 1/2 butter in place of the shortning and there isnt as much unpleasent coating of the tongue & palet in crisco. I hate that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Leonard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Excellent, and so creamy and rich!!!! Caution, go slowly with the heavy whipping cream until you get the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Great frosting! I gave this recipe 4 stars because I made some changes. First, I used 1/2 crisco and 1/2 butter. I also beat the shortening/butter for 10 minutes before adding the sugar. I was overwhelmed with how much frosting this actually made. WAY more than I needed for my cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I will say this frosting had the best consistency to shape and it held. However, I'm giving it a low rating because the flavor was so-so. Way too much powdered sugar. I'll use it again if I need a frosting that looks awesome, but I'm going to keep searching for one with more of a buttercream taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
EXCELLENT!!! The longer it sits, the better it tastes! This recipe made enough for me to frost 48 cupcakes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
was ok. little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States