Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Great butter cream recipe - especially if you're uncomfortable using raw egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakin' Me Crazy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boylston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I love this recipe this is the second time Ive made it, the first was for the super bowl party ...an ice your own cupcake bar....and everyone raved going back for 3rds and fourths. I used half butter half butter flavored shortening and next time I think i will take the salt and mull it first. I think the salt grains were a little to big and didnt blend to well but not a biggie, I also instead of using 8 cups of sugar used 4-4.5 cups. It will always be my go to frosting recipe ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is a great buttercream recipe. I too, have tried many and really like this one. Like many others, I used half butter-flavored shortening. This recipe is a great jumping off point for adding flavors, and other tweaks. Lovely, thank you Rick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I used half shortening and half butter.....Best butter cream ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Really good. I'd give it 4 1/2 stars if that were an option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
It was pretty good. I'm not really a fan of the taste of buttercream in general but it is great for decorating which is what I needed it for. It was perfect for decorating. Perfectly stiff and held the shape wonderfully. I took the advise of others and did half butter and half crisco but I still felt like I could kind of taste the crisco in it. Next time, I will use half butter and half butter flavored crisco. All in all a good recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
mmmmmmm yummy! Half butter/half shortening makes the best combination for taste and texture in my opinion. 1M Cupcake Swirl people- you will need this full recipe to swirl on a boxed mix worth of cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Finally I found a recipe that's not too sweet, not too buttery but just right. I've been looking for a vanilla buttercream frosting forever. This is it! I substituted the shortening for 1 1/2 sticks of butter, and 1/4 cup of shortening (makes it a little fluffy and less buttery and greasy). I will use this frosting forever! THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jakesmomma
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This frosting was delicious and went over extremely well! I made a tiered cake and this recipe covered one 4-layer 6 inch cake and one 3-layer 9 inch cake, so it makes a lot! It did make it the night before and put it in the fridge and I panicked when I pulled it out to frost the cake and it was one big solid lump of frosting. I defrosted a little bit at the time in the microwave and it softened up and looked and tasted great on the cake! I made another half batch for piping and flowers and the consistency was perfect at first. It does get very soft with heat, I would use a little at a time unless you want mushy flowers. Overall, a definite make again, I’ll keep this in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States