Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This frosting did work nicely as far as frosting a cake BUT, I was not impressed with the flavor, or should I say, lack there of! I did get a lot of compliments on it but I probably will not use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnygeb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This is the stuff! I used this to ice and decorate a cake and cupcakes last night. I used 1 c. butter and 1 c. crisco, but it's the cream that makes this recipe. This recipe is now my go-to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This made enough for 32 mini cupcakes with some leftover. I took some advice from previous reviews to substitute half of the shortening for butter, I wish I substituted all of the shortening. Shortening just tastes artificial to me. Next time I'll use all butter. Also, I only used 4 cups of powdered sugar and it was sweet enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I use the butter-flavored shortening instead of the regular shortening. Amazing. Best buttercream frosting ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is a great recipe! I added clear butter, almond and vanilla. the texture is perfect and it is great to work with! I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Security

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
For as many times as I've made this recipe, I can't believe I've never reviewed it til now. It's perfect. I do use a little less than half butter for some of the shortening, but that's it. Great icing to stand up to piping and firm enough to crust slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
i used 1/2 cup butter and the rest shortening, i also added sweetened strawberry puree to add color and strawberry flavor. it worked very nicely on my two layer strawberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My favorite icing for our family birthday cakes! I substitute butter and coconut oil for the shortening. I also use less sugar. Delicious and compliments every time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally wilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This would be an AMAZING frosting to use on a cake.... I added almond extract as well as the vanilla it called for, also I followed others suggestions to use half butter, which was a really good substitute because I dont know that I would have liked the texture/flavoring of straight shortening. I will add- DO NOT USE THIS FROSTING FOR COOKIES, as it DOES NOT set up and makes packaging/transporting nearly impossible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
We decided to make our own wedding cake and after trying several different recipes, we decided to use this one! We, and everyone else, LOVE it! This recipe does not stiffen as much as some of the others but it did enough for the decoration that I did. I will use this recipe time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States