Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
VERY GOOD, not too sweet like some frostings. Kids and hubby all said "save that recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
After reading the comments, I opted to use 1/2 unsalted butter, 1/2 shortening. I do add a bit more salt than it calls for to make up for the unsalted butter, but keep everything else exacly as the recipe calls. I only made 1/3 of this and I still had about 2 cups leftover. I used clear vanilla extract so when I colored it, it came out right. Otherwise perfect!! And don't mind the leftover frosting, because it will be taken care of, trust me!! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janeylynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I am giving this 3 stars because I have made icing like this before and I was hoping for something better. I might have beaten it a big too long, as the icing seemed :loose". I used 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening and about 4 c of sugar and it was STILL too sweet for my taste. For those of you that had a great consistency, for how long did you beat the fat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This frosting is awesome!! I also use half butter and it turns out wonderfully! Never disappoints! If you want white frosting, I would suggest using clear vanilla extract. If it is not with the spices, check with the Wilton cake things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfry, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Delicious! Easy to make, easy to spread, easy to color, and dries very nicely. I made a double batch for my best friend's Bridal Shower that I both catered and hosted. She wanted to have cupcake decorating, so I made this frosting with a variety of colors and everyone thought it was delicious. I only used about 3/4 of the powdered sugar, though.. because when I tested it, I found it to be a bit too sweet. Thanks Rick! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I tried a lot of different recipes for buttercream, this is by far the best, my search is over. So Glad, thanks for the wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I followed directions exactly and it was perfect. I was concerened when adding the powdered sugar (sifted a cup at a time) that it wouldn't be creamy enough, it looked a little dry, but then when I added the heavy cream (8oz) and whipped it, it was perfect! Everyone was asking for the recipe for the frosting or where I bought my cupcakes! I halved the recipie and there was plenty to pip a nice thick swirl on 78 mini cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena Moylan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This buttercream frosting is indeed exceptional. I have a small cupcake business on the side and have tried so many buttercream recipes that I've lost track. My search for the best buttercream frosting ended with this one. It is my go to frosting and my customers absolutely love it. I get rave reviews for it all the time. The only thing I do differently is substitute salted butter for the shortening, eliminate the salt and I find 6 ounces heavy whipping cream is perfect for my taste. This frosting pipes like a dream. I cant say enough good things about it. Thank you Rick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slim1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I added a LOT of Oreo cookie crumbs ... and saved some white frosting for the center. I added some whip to the frosting and filled the chocolate cupcakes. Needless to say ... these were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I used Jocelyn's advice and used 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening and the amounts of cream and powdered sugar and it wouldn't whip up. Perhaps I whipped it too much since I creamed the butter and shortening for about 10 minutes and then whipped everything for about 10 minutes. I ended up having to add additional powdered sugar in order to get it to a consistency that would hold. At that point, it wasn't smooth like I would've liked it to have been. I used almond extract rather than vanilla. It tasted good, and made decent shells but was just not smooth looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States