Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This made enough for 32 mini cupcakes with some leftover. I took some advice from previous reviews to substitute half of the shortening for butter, I wish I substituted all of the shortening. Shortening just tastes artificial to me. Next time I'll use all butter. Also, I only used 4 cups of powdered sugar and it was sweet enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I use the butter-flavored shortening instead of the regular shortening. Amazing. Best buttercream frosting ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is a great recipe! I added clear butter, almond and vanilla. the texture is perfect and it is great to work with! I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Security

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
For as many times as I've made this recipe, I can't believe I've never reviewed it til now. It's perfect. I do use a little less than half butter for some of the shortening, but that's it. Great icing to stand up to piping and firm enough to crust slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
i used 1/2 cup butter and the rest shortening, i also added sweetened strawberry puree to add color and strawberry flavor. it worked very nicely on my two layer strawberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My favorite icing for our family birthday cakes! I substitute butter and coconut oil for the shortening. I also use less sugar. Delicious and compliments every time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally wilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This would be an AMAZING frosting to use on a cake.... I added almond extract as well as the vanilla it called for, also I followed others suggestions to use half butter, which was a really good substitute because I dont know that I would have liked the texture/flavoring of straight shortening. I will add- DO NOT USE THIS FROSTING FOR COOKIES, as it DOES NOT set up and makes packaging/transporting nearly impossible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
We decided to make our own wedding cake and after trying several different recipes, we decided to use this one! We, and everyone else, LOVE it! This recipe does not stiffen as much as some of the others but it did enough for the decoration that I did. I will use this recipe time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This frosting has a great consistency to work with. It also stores well in the refrigerator for a couple of weeks. Leftover icing is wonderful on graham crackers - just like mom made them when I was a kid! Thanks Rick for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
My favorite! So many people ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States