Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I used half shortening and half butter, and this came out perfect! It's light and fluffy, not overly sweet or choking like some frostings. Feel free to use different extracts-- I used mint extract when I made mint chocolate chip cupcakes. This will be my standard buttercream recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veronica
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I found that using half butter the cake doesnt set properly for the type of decorating I prefer. so I use all crisco and add butter flavoring. it looks great and tastes even better. this is definately my new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Used this frosting on a graduation cake I made for my nephew. Very delicious! I have also made it using vanilla flavored coffee creamer rather than cream. It was very vanilla-y. Perfect recipe- thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
comes out perfect everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Angulo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Franklin, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This frosting has an ok taste.....used to frost a wedding cake yesterday and it never crusted enough to smooth out the cake. It is ok for borders and makes a fantastic black (2 cups frosting, 1 oz. black coloring and 1/4 cup powdered chocolate). Just didn't have that wow factor I was looking for in a frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written and I give it 4 stars. It has a light fluffy texture and a sweet and creamy flavor. My only qualms were that I wish it has a bit more butter flavor, so next time I think I will do half shortening and half butter as other reviewers have mentioned. Otherwise, is it pretty good and the consistency is great for piping and cupcake decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hallensd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by simplydi
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Yummy! Thanks! My frosting of choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This frosting is just heaven. I don't know what else to say. I made a half batch and also used half butter as suggested by others. Other than that I followed directions exactly. Half batch made enough to thickly cover a 9x13 cake. It is also very rich in my opinion so if you don't like that you may need to adjust accordingly. But I will definately be using this from now on. Thank you Rick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkindee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Turned out a bit chunky.........But good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was the first buttercream frosting that I have ever made and I did use the suggestions by JOSLYN H....and I must say, I will definitely be using this recipe again and again! All of our guests just raved about the frosting, they said it was "bakery quality" frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States