Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I loved it but I have only tried it with the alternate version of using half unsalted butter and half shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is my tried and true basic go to recipe. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKHDTDEVO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I have been making buttercream icing for years and, I have to say that this is a great recipe. I did as others said and halfed the shortening and added butter for the other half. I used unsalted butter because the recipe called for salt. By the way, adding vanilla will give the icing a slightly darker tinge. If you don't want that tinge, you can use imitation (some brands call it "clear") vanilla. It gives the icing the same flavor. The one thing that I will say is that I am used to using a buttercream recipe that doesn't call for diary (i.e., the heavy whipping cream). The whipping cream gives the icing a very creamy taste and smooth texture. However, you have to make sure that you refrigerate your cake because of the diary. Buttercream icing can be made without diary and it comes out stiffer and thicker without the diary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
If you use half butter and half shortening, this is a 5 star frosting. The taste is lacking and the texture is greasy unless the shortening is cut back and replaced with butter. The rest of the recipe is right on, perfect consistency for piping and holds its shape beautifully! I made 48 cupcakes for a bunch of teenagers and had frosting left over, this makes a huge batch. Several of the kids told me it was the best tasting frosting, 'ever'! Unless you are doing 2 or more cakes or 4 dozen cupcakes, I would halve this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
this worked really well. i switched one cup of shortening with one cup of butter because it just seemed wrong not to have butter in the butter cream icing. the icing tasted really good and spread very easily. it also held it's shape when i used the icing bag. i added cocoa to make it chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Reading many reviews I did a few modifications -using half butter - 1 cup less sugar - the frosting was a hit - very well received for my granddaughter's first birthday! I used edible glitter - great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
The difference between this recipe and other buttercream frosting is the heavy whipping cream. It is over-the-top fantastic! This has replaced my standard recipe that I have used for decades!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was my first time making a buttercream frosting. I thought it was just okay. I made it to frost my daughter's birthday cupcakes. I made her six huge cupcakes and this was WAY too much frosting. I have a huge bowl of it in the fridge right now after very generously frosting her cupcakes. She and her friends loved the frosting, so I gave it 5 stars. I mixed in colorful sugars to give it some color. Just to experiment, I put some in a bowl and added Nestle cocoa to it. I actually liked it better that way. All the girls said it was good both ways. I also did not need near as much sugar. I think I ended up using about 6 cups and added about another half teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This is the best buttercream I have ever made! Every time I try a new recipe for buttercream all I can taste is butter. This was excellent! I did take some advise from other reviewers... I did half shortening and half unsalted butter, always add extra vanilla to everything, and once all of the ingredients were mixed I turned the mixer on med/high and walked away for a few minutes. It was delicious! My husband even loved it as well as two of our close friends. This will be my go to buttercream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by at0519
Home Town: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Best ever! I divided the shortening into third with butter and peanut butter. Oh my....just awesome on chocolate cupcakes! Also dropped a mini Reese's cup in the cupcake before baking. Peanut butter and chocolate lovers will definitely enjoy these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States