Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Reading many reviews I did a few modifications -using half butter - 1 cup less sugar - the frosting was a hit - very well received for my granddaughter's first birthday! I used edible glitter - great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
The difference between this recipe and other buttercream frosting is the heavy whipping cream. It is over-the-top fantastic! This has replaced my standard recipe that I have used for decades!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
How could you call this butter cream when there's no butter in it?? Ever butter cream recipe that I've used started out with butter as the main ingredient..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was my first time making a buttercream frosting. I thought it was just okay. I made it to frost my daughter's birthday cupcakes. I made her six huge cupcakes and this was WAY too much frosting. I have a huge bowl of it in the fridge right now after very generously frosting her cupcakes. She and her friends loved the frosting, so I gave it 5 stars. I mixed in colorful sugars to give it some color. Just to experiment, I put some in a bowl and added Nestle cocoa to it. I actually liked it better that way. All the girls said it was good both ways. I also did not need near as much sugar. I think I ended up using about 6 cups and added about another half teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This is the best buttercream I have ever made! Every time I try a new recipe for buttercream all I can taste is butter. This was excellent! I did take some advise from other reviewers... I did half shortening and half unsalted butter, always add extra vanilla to everything, and once all of the ingredients were mixed I turned the mixer on med/high and walked away for a few minutes. It was delicious! My husband even loved it as well as two of our close friends. This will be my go to buttercream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by at0519
Home Town: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Best ever! I divided the shortening into third with butter and peanut butter. Oh my....just awesome on chocolate cupcakes! Also dropped a mini Reese's cup in the cupcake before baking. Peanut butter and chocolate lovers will definitely enjoy these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Just okay for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I just finished making this exactly as originally posted and it's delicious...OMG...the kids didn't get to lick the beaters :) I did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I followed the recipe except used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter; it had a great texture if you're using it to decorate, but it didn't taste like much to me and my daughter. She said it tasted too much like bakery frosting. To salvage it, I melted 4 squares of unsweetened baking chocolate and beat it into the frosting. My granddaughter said that made it great. I may try it again with all butter next time as I am more interested in the taste than decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States