Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
My favorite! So many people ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this to practice with piping. I probably would have done half butter, but because it was for practice only I followed the recipe and used all shortening. I scaled the recipe down to (3) servings with the calculate button, and still got a full 1 1/2 cups to work with! I thought it tasted exactly like what one would think the frosting would taste like on a traditional basic wedding cake. I used to have another similar recipe and lost it, so I will save this one instead. I wouldn't use it for anything other than cupcakes or if someone wanted a basic style wedding cake as it isn't loaded with flavor. However, I don't care for shortening in icing, so it might just be me. I'll be practicing some with it this week, it looks like it will hold up shape well to test designs. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is really tasty. It is even better if you add 1- 1 1/2 teaspoons pure almond extract! (Keep the vanilla extract, too, if you like!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Francesca
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This turned out just like I wanted it to. I, like many other reviewers, used half shortening and half butter. I also added unsweetened cocoa as I was adding the confectioners sugar to create a chocolate flavor - I probably ended up adding about 6 heaping spoonfuls. I didn't wait to add the heavy cream after all the sugar was added. I alternated between about a cup of sugar (which I only added about a third of a cup at a time), and then added some heavy cream, and so on, until I achieved the consistency, sweetness, and chocolate flavor I was trying for. I ended up using almost all of the cup of heavy cream. I felt like this gave me more control over the finished product. I chilled it down for about 45 minutes before I put I put it into a pastry bag and piped it onto some cupcakes I made using the "Black Magic Cake" recipe from this site. I must say that even the cake batter for those smelled good before they even went into the oven! The Frosting held it's shape very well using a star tip. I added some sprinkles to a few of them, and they held really well in the frosting. I can't wait to try them later...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Oh my goodness! This was the best frosting I have ever tasted! My family loved it, and I can't wait to make another cake to use it again. Like others, I used half shortening and have butter. It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
yummmmm! love it!!! This is the Best Buttercream ever!!! will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
WOW!!!!! This recipe is OUTSTANDING! I followed it to the "T" just the way Rick posted it!! I always made the Wilton "decorating class buttercream" I never fell completely in love with it, because it was waaay to sweet to the point we would sometimes scrape it off our cakes/cupcakes, but this one is amazing, the sweetness level is perfect, it spreads easy, and it is very easy to make. (the only thing is that is too thin for flowers and stuff, I don't think it would be good for such decorations, maybe if you put a little less heavy cream so is not as "thin" - I will try that and will let you know) {That's just my opinion, maybe it works for flowers just the way it is, I just got the impression that it probably wouldn't.} This recipe is a keeper, thanks Rick!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bibi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Buttercream frosting is not really my favorite but this was good. Everyone liked and it was super easy to make and tasted great. I did use half butter and half crisco and creamed butter/crisco for 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Great butter cream recipe - especially if you're uncomfortable using raw egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakin' Me Crazy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boylston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I love this recipe this is the second time Ive made it, the first was for the super bowl party ...an ice your own cupcake bar....and everyone raved going back for 3rds and fourths. I used half butter half butter flavored shortening and next time I think i will take the salt and mull it first. I think the salt grains were a little to big and didnt blend to well but not a biggie, I also instead of using 8 cups of sugar used 4-4.5 cups. It will always be my go to frosting recipe ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Displaying results 131-140 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States