Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
i used 1/2 cup butter and the rest shortening, i also added sweetened strawberry puree to add color and strawberry flavor. it worked very nicely on my two layer strawberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My favorite icing for our family birthday cakes! I substitute butter and coconut oil for the shortening. I also use less sugar. Delicious and compliments every time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally wilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This would be an AMAZING frosting to use on a cake.... I added almond extract as well as the vanilla it called for, also I followed others suggestions to use half butter, which was a really good substitute because I dont know that I would have liked the texture/flavoring of straight shortening. I will add- DO NOT USE THIS FROSTING FOR COOKIES, as it DOES NOT set up and makes packaging/transporting nearly impossible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
We decided to make our own wedding cake and after trying several different recipes, we decided to use this one! We, and everyone else, LOVE it! This recipe does not stiffen as much as some of the others but it did enough for the decoration that I did. I will use this recipe time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This frosting has a great consistency to work with. It also stores well in the refrigerator for a couple of weeks. Leftover icing is wonderful on graham crackers - just like mom made them when I was a kid! Thanks Rick for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
My favorite! So many people ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this to practice with piping. I probably would have done half butter, but because it was for practice only I followed the recipe and used all shortening. I scaled the recipe down to (3) servings with the calculate button, and still got a full 1 1/2 cups to work with! I thought it tasted exactly like what one would think the frosting would taste like on a traditional basic wedding cake. I used to have another similar recipe and lost it, so I will save this one instead. I wouldn't use it for anything other than cupcakes or if someone wanted a basic style wedding cake as it isn't loaded with flavor. However, I don't care for shortening in icing, so it might just be me. I'll be practicing some with it this week, it looks like it will hold up shape well to test designs. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is really tasty. It is even better if you add 1- 1 1/2 teaspoons pure almond extract! (Keep the vanilla extract, too, if you like!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Francesca
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This turned out just like I wanted it to. I, like many other reviewers, used half shortening and half butter. I also added unsweetened cocoa as I was adding the confectioners sugar to create a chocolate flavor - I probably ended up adding about 6 heaping spoonfuls. I didn't wait to add the heavy cream after all the sugar was added. I alternated between about a cup of sugar (which I only added about a third of a cup at a time), and then added some heavy cream, and so on, until I achieved the consistency, sweetness, and chocolate flavor I was trying for. I ended up using almost all of the cup of heavy cream. I felt like this gave me more control over the finished product. I chilled it down for about 45 minutes before I put I put it into a pastry bag and piped it onto some cupcakes I made using the "Black Magic Cake" recipe from this site. I must say that even the cake batter for those smelled good before they even went into the oven! The Frosting held it's shape very well using a star tip. I added some sprinkles to a few of them, and they held really well in the frosting. I can't wait to try them later...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Oh my goodness! This was the best frosting I have ever tasted! My family loved it, and I can't wait to make another cake to use it again. Like others, I used half shortening and have butter. It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States