Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is one fantastic frosting recipe! After reading some of the other reviews I made the following changes: 1 1/2 cups (salted) butter, 1/2 cup shortening; 1 box powdered sugar, and 5 ounces whipping cream. Be sure to omit salt in the recipe as the butter is salty enough and whip for at least 10 minutes before adding sugar, vanilla & cream, then whip for 5 minutes more. Light and not at all greasy tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I have to compliment this recipe I used it for a strawberry shortcake cake I made for the 4th of July party i was going to and I needed something more stable than regular whipped cream frosting and something that would not overwhelm the simplicity of a strawberry shortcake cake, I did just add the sugar to taste as I went and I used a little more than a cup of whipping cream but the flavor and texture where perfect , It held up for decorating and frosting went on so smooth and flawlessly, I recieved compliments all night long on this cake , This recipe is definatly a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
My new favorite frosting! Soo tasty and unique. Little tough to work with because it melts a bit, but definitely makes up for in taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywood21691

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
VERY GOOD, not too sweet like some frostings. Kids and hubby all said "save that recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
After reading the comments, I opted to use 1/2 unsalted butter, 1/2 shortening. I do add a bit more salt than it calls for to make up for the unsalted butter, but keep everything else exacly as the recipe calls. I only made 1/3 of this and I still had about 2 cups leftover. I used clear vanilla extract so when I colored it, it came out right. Otherwise perfect!! And don't mind the leftover frosting, because it will be taken care of, trust me!! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janeylynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I am giving this 3 stars because I have made icing like this before and I was hoping for something better. I might have beaten it a big too long, as the icing seemed :loose". I used 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening and about 4 c of sugar and it was STILL too sweet for my taste. For those of you that had a great consistency, for how long did you beat the fat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This frosting is awesome!! I also use half butter and it turns out wonderfully! Never disappoints! If you want white frosting, I would suggest using clear vanilla extract. If it is not with the spices, check with the Wilton cake things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfry, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Delicious! Easy to make, easy to spread, easy to color, and dries very nicely. I made a double batch for my best friend's Bridal Shower that I both catered and hosted. She wanted to have cupcake decorating, so I made this frosting with a variety of colors and everyone thought it was delicious. I only used about 3/4 of the powdered sugar, though.. because when I tested it, I found it to be a bit too sweet. Thanks Rick! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I tried a lot of different recipes for buttercream, this is by far the best, my search is over. So Glad, thanks for the wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I followed directions exactly and it was perfect. I was concerened when adding the powdered sugar (sifted a cup at a time) that it wouldn't be creamy enough, it looked a little dry, but then when I added the heavy cream (8oz) and whipped it, it was perfect! Everyone was asking for the recipe for the frosting or where I bought my cupcakes! I halved the recipie and there was plenty to pip a nice thick swirl on 78 mini cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena Moylan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States