Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I followed directions exactly and it was perfect. I was concerened when adding the powdered sugar (sifted a cup at a time) that it wouldn't be creamy enough, it looked a little dry, but then when I added the heavy cream (8oz) and whipped it, it was perfect! Everyone was asking for the recipe for the frosting or where I bought my cupcakes! I halved the recipie and there was plenty to pip a nice thick swirl on 78 mini cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This buttercream frosting is indeed exceptional. I have a small cupcake business on the side and have tried so many buttercream recipes that I've lost track. My search for the best buttercream frosting ended with this one. It is my go to frosting and my customers absolutely love it. I get rave reviews for it all the time. The only thing I do differently is substitute salted butter for the shortening, eliminate the salt and I find 6 ounces heavy whipping cream is perfect for my taste. This frosting pipes like a dream. I cant say enough good things about it. Thank you Rick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slim1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I added a LOT of Oreo cookie crumbs ... and saved some white frosting for the center. I added some whip to the frosting and filled the chocolate cupcakes. Needless to say ... these were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I used Jocelyn's advice and used 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening and the amounts of cream and powdered sugar and it wouldn't whip up. Perhaps I whipped it too much since I creamed the butter and shortening for about 10 minutes and then whipped everything for about 10 minutes. I ended up having to add additional powdered sugar in order to get it to a consistency that would hold. At that point, it wasn't smooth like I would've liked it to have been. I used almond extract rather than vanilla. It tasted good, and made decent shells but was just not smooth looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I used half butter and half shortening. I beat the butter and shortening for 10 minutes on the recommendation for other reviewers here. The taste of the icing was good, but it was too loose. Even when I added extra powdered sugar to try to stiffen it up, the frosting was just too loose. I feel like beating the butter and shortening for so long is what was causing the looseness of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I don't like those frostings that have an overwhelmingly "powdered sugar-y" flavor. I made the recipe with the only substitution of 1/2 butter, 1/2 Crisco, and used all 8 oz heavy cream. I used all 8 cups powdered sugar, and I probably shouldn't have. I made half chocolate by adding 1/2 cup cocoa powder, and I liked that version better. The cocoa powder reduced the "powdered sugar" flavor for me. Next time, I'll make a half-recipe (this made a LOT!) and use less powdered sugar. But I will try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I would rate this recipe as stated 5 stars for texture, and 1 for flavor. I followed the recipe as stated and I was not impressed with the flavor. It didn't have much flavor, despite the vanilla and large quanties of sugar. I made the recipe again using butter flavored shortening. It wan't any better. The butter flavor was present, but I didn't care for it. I could taste the salt in both recipes. It was a little mind boggling how so much sugar could result in so little flavor and yet so little salt could be tasted. The Wilton buttercream recipe found for free on their website is the one my husband and I both prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This rating is actually for the customized version of this recipe- use "Dorothy's Special Buttercream Frosting"!!! It's just a variation of this one and it tastes wonderful and is perfect for piping without being too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMiriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This wasn't the best buttercream I've ever made, but it was good. I used half shortening, half butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This frosting did work nicely as far as frosting a cake BUT, I was not impressed with the flavor, or should I say, lack there of! I did get a lot of compliments on it but I probably will not use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnygeb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States