Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Kim Fischer
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Love this recipe! Works wonderfully for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Fischer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great Base icing.... i made mine into Eggnogg buttercream icing! and chocolate mint icing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This frosting was good, but a little greasy and not as fluffy as I had thought it would be. Good basic recipe, but not much punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I love the frosting because its nice and creamy so i just love it............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasa
Photo by SMClanton
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
10 stars for icing! taste just like a bakery.(except better) i did use half butter and half shortening. i cut the recipe in half for 24 cupcakes and still had a ton left over, so the recipe makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by Jacqueline Wood
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I tried the recipe as is first, and found that it was really greasy tasting. I took advice from reviews and used one cup of shortening and one cup of butter, and it was the most delicious buttercream I ever tasted! I did only end up using 3/4 cup of heavy cream and it was enough. I also want to add that it helps if you sift in half the sugar, fold it in, and then use the mixer, and then do the same with the other half of the sugar. Otherwise, the sugar ends up as a cloud in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I used half shortening and half butter, and this came out perfect! It's light and fluffy, not overly sweet or choking like some frostings. Feel free to use different extracts-- I used mint extract when I made mint chocolate chip cupcakes. This will be my standard buttercream recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veronica
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I found that using half butter the cake doesnt set properly for the type of decorating I prefer. so I use all crisco and add butter flavoring. it looks great and tastes even better. this is definately my new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Used this frosting on a graduation cake I made for my nephew. Very delicious! I have also made it using vanilla flavored coffee creamer rather than cream. It was very vanilla-y. Perfect recipe- thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
comes out perfect everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Angulo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Franklin, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States