Rick's Caribbean Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I love this recipe. I tried it once in the skillet and it took way too long and the meat didn't get tender enough, definitely not after 30 minutes, but if you use a crock pot it is absolutely perfect. I've borrowed two extra crock pots and am attempting to make it for my entire class tomorrow, so we'll see how that goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
The husband and I both really liked this dish. I made it on a cold rainy day for the second time last week, served it over a bowl of rice and it was a nice hardy meal for him after being out in the cold all day. I can understand why some people don't love this dish...it probably isn't for everyone but we both love coconut milk when used this way. If your a fan of coconut curries I think you'll like this too. (I did add a touch of curry powder well.) I think it has a nice balance of sweet and savory just be careful with the amount of sugar...I just eyeballed the measurement this time and I think it was a tad too much. I also used a bolder wine this time too which helped with a darker color; more brown than gray as some others have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caruthers, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This was very tasty, and not that sweet as others were saying. Use coconut milk, not cream and you will be fine. Use half sugar to be 100% safe. The color of the dish, I would agree, is not the most attractive. The taste is very flavourful, rich and a bit unusual. It was great experiment, and we don't have any leftovers, but I won't cook it again - too unusual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
The allspice in this recipe was way too overpowering. I didn't enjoy the flavor and definately didn't save the leftovers. My kids did not like it at all and I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I thought this was OK, but my husband and 5 year old son were put off by the color (gray) and how very sweet it was (hubby). I put everything except the sour cream in the crock pot and let it go all day, then adding the sour cream when ready to serve. The bonus is that the meat falls apart and there is no need to shread it. I did add some garlic powder at the end to help cut the sweetness. Bottom line: with two thumbs down out of three, I will not be making this for my family again - I can't eat that many leftovers myself. I prefer my own ropa vieja recipe made with beef or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This was quick and fun to make and the taste was not what I had originally expected - it was better. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This was good but not knock my socks off good. It tasted a little flat--something was missing. As one of the reviewers said, the color is a little unappetizing. I didn't find it too sweet. Other reviewers probably felt it was too sweet because they may have used cream of coconut instead of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Flavor is wonderful! But it looks awful. (What do you expect of ropa vieja ('old clothes')? I used my crock pot. Should have cut the meat across the grain into smaller sections before shredding. It was stringy. My husband and I liked it, but wouldn't try serving it to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I made this recipe in a slow cooker as others have suggested and I really didn't care for it. I didn't think it was too sweet... I just didn't like the flavor though I do generally like Caribbean food. My husband thought it was pretty good but he heavily seasoned it with chipotle sauce so it wasn't "true" to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
If I could give this negative stars, I would. We ordered pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States