Richest Ever Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was a very good cake. I watched it very closely to make sure it didn't burn since it's easy to burn chocolate... that's probably why those other's came out dry. But whats wonderful is that this is better the second day - more moist - seems darker too. BUT it was a light cake, not dense because of the egg whites. I added a few extras to make a new recipe so look for my Chocolate Mocha Pound Cake soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This was a nice, moist cake, but it could have been more chocolatey. It wasn't difficult to make. I used 2 tsp vanilla, b.t.w.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo C

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This recipie didn't seem to be that rich. In fact, it didn't have that much flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
not moist enough, not chocolate enough, not dense enough. from the list of ingredients it should have been all of the above. buttermilk makes everything better, but not this cake!! Sorry carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I have made this recipe several times and it's a delight each time. It's wonderful with vanilla ice-cream and raspberry sauce. My sister-in-law who is a pastry chef even asked for this recipe. A nice addition to this recipe is 1 1/2 - 2 teaspoons cinnamon and Mexican vanilla if you have it on hand. The regular pure vanilla works well too. Also, I lightly dust it with icing sugar once cool. I call this version Mexican Chocolate Pound Cake as Mexican chocolate often contains cinnamon. If you are looking for a deliciously rich, dense and attractive cake, this is the cake!! NB Don't bake this cake on convection setting as it will bubble over--on a regular bake setting, this cake bakes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This is a very delicious chocolate cake. However, it doesn't hold up to its promise of dense and dark. There's not nearly enough chocolate flavor or the dense heavy texture present in a pound cake.If you're in search of a good chocolate cake, this would be for you. If you're in search of that old fashioned deep, dense, dark chocolate flavor, this is not the recipe for you.I gave it a five because it is very delicious and easy. But I was looking for a deep chocolate, dense textured pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This was an easy, great recipe! My wife and I loved it! We added a satiny chocolate glaze that we got off this site. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
I really liked this recipe. The flavor was very chocolately, yet light. It formed a nice top crust (something like a brownie crust), which made it perfect for sprinkling some powdered sugar on top without the sugar melting into the cake. I will make this recipe again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
This cake recipie is a pain in the neck and although it tastes delicious, the only person who got to enjoy it was me because I had to scrape the entire thing out of the pan. It is a mess and bubbled out over the called-for pan all over my oven. Don't make this cake if you want success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
Rich, moist, and chocolatey! Very good chocolate cake. Cut back on the number of egg yolks used to lessen cholesteral-no effect on the cake. Yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States