Richard's Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
EXCELLENT Chowder!! I have made this twice so far. I did cut the liquid back by about half, maybe a little less. Served at a dinner party for 8 people as a first course & everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This is an excellent recipe. Also is an excellent base for fish chowder. Add your own favorite seafoods for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Wow- I was VERY disappointed with this recipe. First of all, since the vegetables (including the potatoes) were "minced" it really lacked the chunky vegetables usually associated with a chowder. Secondly, there was very little flavor, even though I added additional clam juice, cayenne pepper, and salt & pepper. The broth also seemed to seperate, making a very odd consistency. My husband, who found & was looking forward to the recipe, ordered a pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This is an outstanding chowder, better than most restaurants can dream up, for sure! The Sherry adds a touch of class, and it's a breeze to cook up on short notice. I used whole cream and skim milk, as that's what I had on hand, and in the future I intend to add some haddock or cod to add a bit more seafood to the mix. This is a can't miss recipe for those who love a good, rich seafood chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
Be prepared to freeze this soup or eat it for a few days. My 13 month old loves it with crackers crumbled in it(seafood picked out,of course). We're a family of three; mommy, daddy, and baby. Just to give you idea of how much it will feed...for a few days!! Very tasty,perfect for cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I did not find this recipe very good. I had to add chicken boullion to give it some taste. Way too much liquid also. I wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was wonderful. Any fish or seafood will work. Even the kids enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
One of my favorites. I have made this chowder many times. There are usually no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chasinpdx
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I changed the recipe by adding Lobster, Crab, & Clams to the Scallops and Shrimp. I also added Old Bay Seasoning and tripled the Sherry (half w/onions and half with the shellfish) to make an absolutely delicious dish! Add some good Sourdough Bread for the perfect main course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States