Rich and Simple French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Incroyable! 6 medium yellow onions - caramelized. It takes longer but is well worth the time. Then: 1 minced garlic clove for 1 min. 1/3 cup Merlot. 1 tsp sugar. 1-2 litres beef broth (homemade plus 1&1/2 cubes Knorr's beef bullion or Campbell's in the carton). Sprinkle Parmesan. Leftover toast. Swiss & mozzarella cheese shredded. Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnnpppnk

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My husband and son loved it! I was not a fan of the thyme. Maybe add a small amount at a time to see how much suits your taste. And I did follow the recpie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I was not as impressed with the soup. Sure, it's beefy and has a good onion flavor, but there are a few key steps missed in the direction thats ABSOLUTELY make a great french onion soup. First and foremost, you must carmelize the onions. To speed this along, I usually throw a teaspoon of sugar into the onions after they've turned translucent. Secondly, deglazing the pan. You don't have to use wine, if you don't have it, but using a little chicken broth to deglaze the pan and scrape all the toasty bits off the pan will help tremendously in developing a rich flavor. These things take seconds and will not add significantly to the amount of time it takes to churn out a good french onion soup. Finally, the provolone adds nothing....except for allowing you to add gobs of extra cheese on a budget. The best choice is a gruyere or swiss. The longer it is aged, the better. I agree, you can add some parmesan to add that saltiness you get from a good aged cheese, but parm is just as expensive. All-in-all, I would say this soup was OK, and comparable to the soup you can buy in the can, but I've had better homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This soup is outstanding. I served it to my son and his family. They loved it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It's not Onion soup without the caramelized onions! People leave this step out to save time--but it adds a savory depth to the broth. HOWEVER, don't caramelize with olive oil--use butter only. I sometimes roast an onion on my grill and add that to the mix. Also, try a cognac instead of sherry or wine. Traditional French Onion soup uses stale French bread which has a texture that is less soggy and it doesn't taste stale in the soup. Try vegetable broth instead of beef--it is healthier and tastes just as good. I use four grated cheeses together; Swiss, smoked Gouda, Gruyere and cheddar. Finally, try red onions--they are sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Perfect! Quick, easy and Delicious! Definitely restaurant quality! Followed the recipe exactly (except for caramelized the onion). Absolutely Delicious! Thanks for sharing! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I made this tonight for my husband and he absolutely loved it. My neighbor came by and tried it and devoured it. I followed the recipe to a "t" and was told don't change a thing. This is becoming a staple recipe for week night dinners. It really only took about an hour to make from start to finish and was so easy. If you like French onion soup, give it a try. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Absolutely delish. I didn't have any sherry and it was yummy. And I did not add any salt. The broth had enough...even the low-sodium. Def going in my recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made my first onion soup today. Tasty! But the advice to brown the onions is good advice. I used thick sliced provolone, bad idea I love cheese but it was too cheesy. It was quick easy and tasty A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Simply the best French Onion Soup out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 718) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States