Rich and Simple French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
A-MAZING! I don't normally like French Onion Soup but LOVED this one! Used red and yellow onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This tasted just like my favorite French Onion Soup at a certain restaurant. The only thing I did different was to omit the swiss cheese. Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I've been craving French Onion soup for months now. This soup is perfect. I didn't have the stock so I added about a cup and a half of water with 2 beef bullion cubes (I made a single serving) I also didn't have the thyme or sherry but it's brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Made this recipe for dinner this evening. I skipped the bread and cheese on top. I'm sorry, I know it is a hallmark of this dish but even with toasting I find that addition to be soggy so I did shredded provolone & mozzarella on top and had egg twist rolls with garlic parmasean butter on the side. My son helped cook it so it is definitely a simple recipe. My husband ate two big bowls of it so I guess it was tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup and the olive oil to 1 TBSLP, carmelizing the onions for one hour, and lowering the heat. I also added 1 tsp of Worcestershire sauce, 1/4 cup of sherry and reduced the amount of thyme. The boxed beef broth I used was low sodium. Used a combination of gruyere, mozzarella and parmesan cheese, adding some inside the crock bowl before pouring in the soup. Great comfort food on a day when there's a blizzard going on with 2 ft+ of snow! Thanks Lori for the great starting point. GO PATS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Love this soup. Only things I changed was I used a red wine instead of sherry because that is what I had. And browned the onions. Fantastic soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I love this recipe. Im a horrible cook and when i tried making this it was actually REALLY REALLY good! it gives me hope for the future that i CAN cook well. MY husband hates onions but loves loves loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Soucier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 731) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States