Rich and Simple French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Please make this soup, you will not be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
The soup is too thin and tasteless for my liking. Otherwise, onions, bread and cheese delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
this is a great base recipe! I used a mixture of red spanish onions, and yellow onion. sliced thin, then carmelized them for over an hour. I used 2 minced garlic cloves, 5 c. beef broth, 1c. chicken broth..deglazed my pan with 1/2C. white wine (DO DEGLAZE YOUR PLAN!! use something - red wine, vermouth, champagne, sherry,, it *really* adds to the flavor!!!), then put it all in my slow cooker on low, for the rest of the afteroon (3 hours?), with bunches of fresh thyme, and some crushed bay leaves. before eating, I grated some fresh parmesan, and put 'a small handfull' into the bottom of each bowl, then ladled the soup into my FOS bowls,, with a slice of toasted french bread (next time I think I will make the croutons, as the sliced bread was a little hard to cut through after baking. I think a 'stuffing/crumb' topping would be better IMO). used a thin slice of gruyere overtop each bowl, w/ some chopped chives. VERY IMPRESSED. will make again, pronto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! This is very easy to make and I strongly recommend this. I made small changes to the recipes by using just 1 type cheese instead of the recommended 3 types. It is the best French Onion soup I have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Excellent Carmelize onions Toast bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ♥Tracey-Li♥
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Yummy! This soup is extremely rich and tastes exactly like the FOS I've had at high-end restaurants...actually, it tastes BETTER! The FOS I've had at those pricey restaurants is so dang salty! I changed mine up quite a bit. I'm the type of cook who doesn't really measure anything, unless I'm baking. I used 5 huge white onions, which btw, took 3 flippin' hours to carmelize!!! Maybe it was my choice of onion? Next time I'll use yellow onions. It was so worth it though :) Didn't have sherry, so I used red wine...I don't know how much, maybe 1/4 cup, with which I deglazed the pan. For the cheese I used fontina and fresh mozzarella and left out the parmesan. I cut my french bread about an inch thick then cubed it and toasted it til it was golden brown. French bread is light and airy inside, even though I toasted it, it seemed quite soggy. I think next time I'm going to use a baguette like I normally do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥Tracey-Li♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I wish I had read the reviews before making this - I agree that browning/caramelizing the onions would have given it more flavor. I also think the amount of butter could be cut in half. I'll definitely make it again with those modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
A BEEF BOUILLON CUBE IS A MUST. It tastes like WATER without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was my very first time making soup. This recipe was so easy and quick! I did listen to the reviews and used WAY less butter and I did carmelize my onions. This came out awesome, I really impressed my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is a great recipe and best I've made..including ,my standard for years from Julia Child !!My mother-in-law is from the French Countryside ( 80 plus in years now !) and she combines 1/2 chicken stock and half beef stock as that is how they made it when she was growing up, so that is what I did here also. Instead of Sherry, I used a good drinking red wine . I do usually use the combo of provolone and swiss , but was out of both, so just used mozzarella as is what I had..Also, I toasted some bread ( I usually use French bread , but , only had hamburger buns,so, yes, that is what I used !) under hi heat broiler, then took out and rubbed with olive oil and some fresh cut garlic..put in soup bowl and covered w the Mozzarella ..then bake under broiler for a few minutes until cheese is brown and soup bubbling. Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States