Rich and Simple French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I prepared it as directed and I thought that the broth was a little flat. I added 1/3 cup of red wine, 1T worcestershire sauce, and 1T balsamic vinegar as directed in another recipe. I really liked it with these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
LOVED IT!! After reading other reviews I opted for carmelized onions (4 large)....to prevent less tearing, put them in the fridge the day before, used red wine (almost used an ale beer instead, will try that next time)...added 1/2 c red wine when onions were a their prime, cooked off the wine and sprinkled with a little flour. added 12 cups water with 12 beef bullion cubes and 2 paks swanson beef boosters. I let it come to a boil and let it simmer for 20 min. I added another 1/4 cup red wine and let it simmer for another 20 min. It was pretty amazing! Definately going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motomom3273

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was by far the best French Onion Soup I have ever had! Followed the recipe exactly and it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
My family LOVED this soup. My mom doesn't even like French onion soup, an she had two bowls. I didn't have sherry but I added a splash of red wine and it was wonderful! I will be making this over and over, especially on cold days! It was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexieDi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is the best french onion soup I've found and it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
followed the recipe exact except did not at the wine (i didn't have any) and i added some flour to the sauted onions to help thicken the soup a little. Husband loved and and I plan on making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very good! I used half the thyme though and glad i did, would have been too much for me! Thank you for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Please make this soup, you will not be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
The soup is too thin and tasteless for my liking. Otherwise, onions, bread and cheese delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
this is a great base recipe! I used a mixture of red spanish onions, and yellow onion. sliced thin, then carmelized them for over an hour. I used 2 minced garlic cloves, 5 c. beef broth, 1c. chicken broth..deglazed my pan with 1/2C. white wine (DO DEGLAZE YOUR PLAN!! use something - red wine, vermouth, champagne, sherry,, it *really* adds to the flavor!!!), then put it all in my slow cooker on low, for the rest of the afteroon (3 hours?), with bunches of fresh thyme, and some crushed bay leaves. before eating, I grated some fresh parmesan, and put 'a small handfull' into the bottom of each bowl, then ladled the soup into my FOS bowls,, with a slice of toasted french bread (next time I think I will make the croutons, as the sliced bread was a little hard to cut through after baking. I think a 'stuffing/crumb' topping would be better IMO). used a thin slice of gruyere overtop each bowl, w/ some chopped chives. VERY IMPRESSED. will make again, pronto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 718) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States