Rich and Simple French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Simply the best French Onion Soup out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I wonder if you can use the knorr's beef stock that you add water to instead of the canned beef broth. Hate canned store products they always seem to have a metalic taste to them. Or maybe even Lipton's beefy onion powder soup mix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Amazingly simple and delicious! An incredibly easy recipe for someone who appreciates a gourmet taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKARAVANIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I've tried this two ways: with the suggested beef broth, and with more traditional beef stock (keeping in mind that stock is made with actual bone marrow, as in from-scratch recipes). Stock lends that extra measure of savoriness, no doubt about it! I'm sure others have also gone this route, and they're not really messing with a good thing...they're following tradition! Enjoy either way---this is a can't miss! (By the way, those of us who've been sampling the nation's French onion soups will enjoy and appreciate this one all the more, leading us to wonder what some restaurants are thinking!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buellbabe
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made this last night and loved it. It was so easy to make and it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great basic recipe, good job. The only two things I did different was the add red wine instead of sherry and used a hand held blender to mix the onions. It is a little easier to eat when you mix the onions makes it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andreiswife

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
too much butter and not enough beefy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This recipe is super easy to make and tastes great. It is a little time consuming, but worth the time. I took the recommendations of another and cooked the onions until they were just starting to turn a light brown (about 45 minutes). I don't believe it would have tasted so good, if I would have put the broth in earlier. I didn't have sherry on hand, so I used white wine which is listed as a substitute on line and also cut the thyme in half as it is not my favorite spice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States