Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I did substitute half and half for the heavy cream. I (who loves cream) felt it would have been better with the heavy cream. Dh (who does not like cream, butter, etc.) said it was perfect. Even with half and half, it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I'm not a huge tomato fan but I tried this one for my family. I peeled the tomatoes and removed the seeds. After adding the cream and butter, I found the flavor too tomato-y (maybe it was the tomatoes I got). I whipped up some of the remaining cream, added sugar to the cream and then put in a couple of dollops to balance. My son told me, "it doesn't look like tomato soup but it sure tastes like it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mztry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
WOW! Best tomato soup ever. My husband and I were amazed at how great this was! I made the recipe as is - although I did use Roma tomatoes and ended up doubling the amount of tomatoes called for due to their smaller size. This is now going to be our go to recipe! Thank-you so much for a great recipe!! If you are making this - do not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Just made this and it's delish'! The only thing I would change is that I put the tomatoes, tomato juice, and basil in the blender before cooking. I just pulsed it until smooth. I used two cans of San Marzano tomatoes in juice and one can of tomato sauce. I used two table spoons of dried basil instead of the fresh basil. Aside from this things this recipe is perfect as is! A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I didn't have basil leaves, but I had some basil pesto I added instead. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I have been using this recipe for a couple years now. It is wonderful! Can't make it too often because when I do, I eat the whole pot within a day! And I always double it. I use canned diced tomatoes and they work just fine. Also a little easier. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Incredible! I used 1/2 the butter, 18-20 fresh basil leaves, 1 teaspoon sugar (since my tomatoes weren't totally ripe), and 1/2 teaspoon of salt and pepper. We cut up tortillas and toasted them to put on top, along with bacon bits, cheddar cheese and scallions. 3 cans of cambell's tomato juice worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Well, it was one of those days that one hopes fervently to get to the market but fails to actually do so. I had only a bit of cream, but I did have fresh tomatoes and basil, so thought I'd give it a try. It was bitter, but we're in winter now, so I don't expect really sweet tomatoes, and I had to add quite a lot of sugar. Next time I'll seed my tomatoes as other reviewers suggested. I added a tablespoon or so of butter; I would not have added half a cup of butter to a soup under any circumstances. I thought the soup was very good anyway. It had a clean, fresh taste and a steady hum of basil underneath all the tomatoes. Hubby liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I think the cream was a nice touch, but the soup overall had a tart flavor, not the rich tomato flavor I was hoping for. I also didn't care for the buttery flavor. And the soup definitely needed a good bit more basil. If I try making it again, I would double the amount of basil. To be fair, I halved the recipe...sometimes that can affect the quality of a dish. But I wasn't able to figure out how to get the flavor I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Wonderful flavor. Used garden tomatoes. Make a double batch every time and my boyfriend raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemmon, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 878) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States