Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This recipe is very good. Just let the soup simmer about an hour and don't add the basil until the end and use and immersion blender. Drizzle with mexican crema and serve. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I've been trying to replicate a delicious tomato bisque that I had ages and ages ago in Salt Lake City at a place that I can't remember the name of - this comes remarkably close!! I doubled the recipe, but left the cream and butter alone and it was amazing. I'd like a few more chunkier tomatoes next time...but will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Made this for the first time last night. I wish I'd read the suggestions in a lot of these reviews before making it. I ended up having to double the amount of tomato juice and add in some tomato paste to counter the entire half cup of butter I'd already added which was way too much. It turned out fantastic though, so like many of the other reviews - cut the butter AND cream in half. You'll be glad you did! It's a fantastic recipe otherwise. So delicious and will certainly be a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Very yummy. I have to agree that the cream diminished the tomato/basil flavor, so I doubled the basil after tasting. Next time I will simmer the tomatoes longer to intensify the flavor. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
So tasty, followed recipe exactly. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
First of all I have never left a review in my life but I thought this soup deserved it. Second of all this is the most amazing Tomato Basil soup I have ever had. I did it just like the recipe told me and didn't change one thing. And I am glad I didn't because it could not have came out any better! I will make this soup for the rest of my life!! I am still in amazement of just how great it came out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This soup is so rich and creamy! Better than any restaurant tomato soup I've ever eaten. This is always the first soup I make come winter. Recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenp886

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
After reading the reviews I thought this would be really amazing, but I was unimpressed. I made this with sauteed garlic, fresh tomatoes and fresh basil leaves. I did substitute half & half for the heavy whipping cream as someone suggested, and only added 1/4c of butter, but it was still WAY, WAY too much butter. Literally, you could taste hints of butter in the soup, and not in an appetizing way. If I made this again I would probably omit the butter entirely, and probably add a bit more basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This soup is AWESOME!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 892) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States