Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This is a delicious soup! We usually make it as the recipe suggests but we've made it with tLots of the other suggestions. If we are using fresh tomatoes and fresh basil, it's always very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dany M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
It was okay, a little bit bland and thin but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I decided to steer away from the traditional Polish tomato soup for something more flavourful. This soup provides the perfect creamy texture with a blast of flavour. Love, love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I wanted to like this. I love creamy tomato soup and make it all the time. But I was looking for something a little different to try and decided to give this a shot. Good tomatoes are not to be found at the store right now, so I used a can of high quality fire-roasted diced tomatoes (my favorite brand that I use all the time), and I used jarred, pureed tomatoes instead of juice (again a brand that's my favorite that I use all the time). The end result just didn't cut it for me. It was more cream/butter flavor with a very slight tomato flavor, but without the onions and garlic I usually use, it was pretty bland. I have never used butter in my tomato soup (always use olive oil) nor do I normally use more than a quarter cup or so of cream, so this one was really too buttery/creamy for me. I did not find the basil flavor too much. Thanks for the idea to try, but I'll have to stick to my usual version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I have made this recipe several times over the past year. It is great as is but quite fattening. I have used half the butter (1/4c) and subbed skim milk and it still tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and used fresh ingredients, but it was very thin and bland. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
My husband said it's the best tomato soup he's ever had. We had it with grilled cheese sandwiches for a nice Lenten Friday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I love this soup! I have made is several times and it has turned out awesome every time! The local market was out of fresh basil one time and I substituted 2 1/2 TBS of dried basil, still awesome! If you really want to take it to another level, add 1 pound of cooked crispy bacon to the soup. That's right, I said a pound of bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marty lane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I've made this several times now. It is very good. I like to add about a tsp. of minced garlic, a dash of red pepper flakes and some dried sweet basil along with fresh basil leaves. If my tomatoes aren't quite ripe enough I do add a little sugar. We always serve this soup with grilled cheese sandwiches. Perfect for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very yummy, but a little too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 861) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States