Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Incredible! Incredible! Incredible! Only thing I did was half the butter and heavy cream (tastier, healthier, and saves money!). No film if you half those two. I also added in a teaspoon of salt. I find that is the perfect amount. Amazing. I don't de-seed, and I don't take off the skin. The tomatoes make the recipe, so get the best you can find (farmer's market preferably). I put a dash of sugar to off set any bitterness leaving in the seeds might cause. My vitamix made it so you couldn't tell I didn't de-seed. Let mixture cool before putting it in blender. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Very simple, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andy
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Awesome soup! Only blend half of it so its still chunky, I normally cook it all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Perfect! I used 2 cups Pastene Kitchen Ready tomatoes and 2 cups low salt V-8 juice, 2 cloves roasted garlic and I roasted the fresh tomatoes before adding them into the soup. I also added just a bit of freshly grated parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Wow. Top notch!! Superbly simple yet exquisite flavor. Very easy to make and very delightful to eat. I'm having a hard time exercising restraint waiting for dinner. I could easily eat this all myself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this for my Dad tonight for dinner and he really enjoyed it! He said it was restaurant quality,and that he can't go back to the canned stuff ever again.Thanks for the recipe MARBALET,we will definitely using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easy_meals_win

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is the best creamy tomato basil soup we have ever had! It is a favorite of the whole family, especially my children, who request it often. The original recipe is the best, but if you don't have heavy whipping cream on hand, milk (any fat content) can be substituted. while the flavor remains the same, just know that the thickness will decrease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKARAVANIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I thought this was delicious. The entire family loved it, even those that are not fancy to tomato's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
If I could rate it 2.5 stars I would. I followed the recipe exactly, used super fresh ingredients and the soup was still bland. High calorie, high fat, bland soup is not exactly what I had in mind when I found this recipe. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States