Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Awesome soup! I doubled everything but the butter and cream and it was still plenty rich and filling. Highly recommend making this,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
The recipe is just fine. It tasted like the soup I had in RI on a recent trip. I guess I just don't love tomato soup as much as I used to. I over boiled the tomatoes , so they softened too much and getting the seeds out took a long time. (that was my first time doing that) as I was "deseeding" I knew in my heart there "has to be a better way"...so take a minute and google it (or whatever) and save yourself some time. After that process the rest was a snap, really, really simple. If you love tomato soup, this is restaurant quality ...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
OMG...this was soooo good and easy!!! We all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Elfering

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoMomma
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Well I made a double batch of the recipe today EXACTLY as it is said to be made and I think it has serious potential. The problem is the acidity of the tomatoes. It is overbearing. Maybe it is the time of year I'm trying to buy fresh tomatoes though. I will however go home and take the advice of others and just add a little bit of sugar and I'm hoping that does the trick because either way this is dinner tonight for my family of 6!! Lol, I think it will be fine. As others have stated though, next time I make this recipe I will saute some onions and garlic and add that to the tomatoes while they simmer, but that is just personal taste. I can't get enough onion and garlic in my kitchen! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this and it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Henderson Skedsvold

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Update: I never do this, but just had to pop back in to say that this is our favorite soup ever, and I make it at least once a month. (Just had a bowl for lunch.) This time I forgot to buy fresh basil so I threw in some that I had dried from last year's garden, and it was just as flavorful. Thanks for this great recipe! **** So simple and delicious my so was slurping it up before he even knew what was in it. I thought he hated tomatoes—apparently not. Like others, I didn't peel or seed the tomatoes, but pureed everything right in the pot. I enjoyed the texture of the small seeds. Thank you for this delicious recipe! We had it with grilled cheese made from the Amish white bread recipe I found here and make every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very delicious. We made some grilled mozzarella sandwiches (with fresh chopped basil) to go with this and it was an awesome sunday afternoon lunch. I would probably add a few more tomatoes and use low-sodium tomato juice because I'm super-sensitive to salt and love the flavor of tomato but this was super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I followed the directions for this recipe exactly and WOW! It was delicious. I will add this to my favorite recipes and recommend it to all my friends. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tntlinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Bennett, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I used 2 large cans of peeled tomatoes and cut the butter amount in half. I thought it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian S.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Best soup EVER! I've been making this for years, and I don't even LIKE tomato soup! I made it on a bet. Thank God I lost because ultimately ... I WON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbarbour

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 869) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States