Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this recipe tonight and it was phenomenal. Just absolutely wonderful. I served it up with a grilled cheese for my roommate and I and got probably the best review I could have asked for: "I would have been more than happy to pay $20 for that in a restaurant and I would have been totally pleased with it." I agreed! I like a really thick tomato soup so I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of flour at the same time as the butter and cream and built up from there until it was the consistency that I wanted. That was the only thing I changed, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
SO easy and SOOO GOOD!!! (The prep took me a lot longer than listed though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Ultimately, the consistency was velvety and the flavor was delicious. My initial mistake was trying to use fresh vine ripe tomatoes in NOVEMBER. I recommend canned only if you are not making this in season. You will be able to tell if your tomatoes won't make a strong soup if during the blanching process your tomatoes falls apart and becomes grainy. They will also lack flavor. Therefore, My batch needed an extra amount of canned tomatoes to balance the dominant richness from the cream and butter. Overall this is the perfect basic recipe that is flexible enough to handle adjustment and still turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Pinon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I try and often times fail. This was great! Loved it! Will make it again. Followed the directions with only the addition of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This was wonderful. Made it with my canned romas. Cut butter & heVy cream by 1/4. Wouldn't change anything else...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was outstanding. I made a couple modifications as other reviewers mentioned. I used only 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 cup cream. My intent wasn't to cut calories/fat -- I did it because it tasted better with less cream/butter. I also cooked the tomato mixture about 2 hours before adding the cream/butter. I added 3 cloves of garlic as the tomato mixture simmered. A definite 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was fantastic. I considered tweaking it, but decided to make it as listed above. It turned out GREAT! Such a yummy recipe. I read at least 100 of the 800+ reviews.I think I only came across two reviews that gave it less than 5 stars. One complained that the cream ruined it. Um... The title indicates that it is CREAMY Tomato Basil Soup. Yes, it is a very rich and creamy style. YUM! I typically make my Tomato Basil Soup non-dairy, but decided to try this for a change. It was scrumptious. I did taste it pre-cream and it was super yummy at that stage too. I would use it in either form very happily. The 2nd bad review gave it 2 stars because they weren't told to be careful when they puree -let the hot cool enough to not explode, etc.. I am very sorry they got burned, but even they said the recipe was all the 5 stars and more and that the only reason for the low rating was because of their lack of knowing how to handle hot foods for puree. Not fair. SO.. ALL that to say... SUPERB recipe as is. It is one I will keep and remake. It will be fun to play with it also. I would love to experiment with some Italian sausage and cheese accents, but that is just because I like to experiment. The recipe as is works great. Kudos to the chef of this recipe! ps. I made a monster batch using 20+ tomatoes for freezer portions. Even super sizing the recipe worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
fresh ingredients = awesome soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Absolutely wonderful soup. Good enough for company. Only change was that I used an entire can of tomato juice. My friend gave me some slightly bruised tomatoes from her garden. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I love this recipe! I will use it over and over and over again! I did not use a half cup of butter that just seemed like a lot. I only used a table spoon full of butter and that seemed plenty. Also I added a little more basil because I love love love basil! A great pairing for this soup is a ceasar salad and a glass of red wine (cabernet or merlot) ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 899) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States