Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I've printed fifteen copies of this, because people keep asking me for the recipe! I've made it for as many as 22 people. It's always a hit! I appreciate that my vegetarian friends who eat dairy can eat this, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
awesome! Made as stated !! A definite keeper, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight, it was pretty easy to make. I used half a stick of butter instead of the full stick. I used double the basil and I did not blitz the mixture for too long, literally 10 seconds. I also added a clove of garlic to the tomatoes at the beginning and a dash of sugar to the soup once blitzed. Was bloody delicous, It was super fragrent, had a very pleasant taste to it.....Will deffo keep this recipe, a happy bunny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Unbelievable!!! A new favorite! Used my own garden tomatoes with it and a tomato cocktail juice, did not have enough fresh basil, so I used half dry and it still was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Delicious!!! I doubled the recipe, no problem. I used half the heavy cream called for and 1/4 cup of butter. I used extra basil and chopped it before pureeing it. I paired this with Gruyere grilled cheese... it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I made sage buttermilk biscuits to dip in it tonight and it is amazing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Loved this recipe! I actually did not have tomato juice so used 1/2 tomato sauce, 1/4 water and 1/4 chicken stock. I did puree the cooked tomatoes, but found the puree did not affect the chopped basil much, so would chop a little bit more before I added to processor. Per reccommendation I wish I had added a little more basil! Just added the cream to taste...wonderful easy, and tasty soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is such a great place to start. I won't bother mentioning how I tweaked this recipe since I've done it so many times. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samelysame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I really wanted to like this recipe. I followed it exactly. It just wasn't that great. It was...it was...I don't know. It just wasn't that great. Maybe it was the tomatoes that I used or maybe...I don't know. After reading all the wonderful reviews, I just knew this was going to be awesome. Maybe I had my hopes to high. From now on, when I want some tomato soup, I'll just use that famous soup in a can and doctor it up with some milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trent&Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
this recipe is so good! and so easy! and so fatty! I love it, but i guess we can't eat it to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMMIE6164

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 870) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States