Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
As written, it was too acidic. Has to add honey to mask the acidity. Other than that the flavor was nothing special. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is an excellent recipe; I will definitely make it again. Really really good! However I did make some modifications. Since I was trying to use up an abundance of tomatoes from our garden, for the 4 c. tomato juice I pureed enough fresh tomatoes to make 4 cups. My tomatoes are of varying sizes so I didn't count how many. Since I didn't used store bought tomato juice I added 1 tsp. salt. I didn't see the need to puree the soup mixture after the 30 minutes; the tomato chunks are kind of nice to have in there. I also did not find the quantity of basil leaves to be sufficient so I double the amount and added a 1/2 tsp. dried basil. I also added 6 cloves of chopped garlic and a 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. Served it with some mozzarella cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
best tomatoe soup ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
First Tomato Soup I ever made, and is a new instant classic for me. I can't believe how easy it is to make. Everyone was raving over it. Will definitely keep and use recipe, thanks! BTW, I didn't have heavy whipping cream, so I used Sour Cream. Turned out great, but next time I'll try with the cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
made enough canned tomatos - used the rest that were peeled/prepared to make this soup - all ingredients fresh from garden! ( except the cream/butter :-) Quick .. easy .. and so yummy .. put some in freezer also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This recipe is delicious. Of course what makes it fabulous is the butter and dairy products. It was 105 degrees outside. I served this very very cold in coffee mugs. Everyone loved it........even the guys who said they NEVER do cold soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is so tasty. Thanks for posting. Next time though I'll double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very delicious. My family always asks for this soup. Sometimes I cheat and use canned diced tomatoes instead of whole. Tastes just like the one from our hometown Italian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda_gza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Absolutely delicious!! Very much like the popular French restaurant version, and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Hartline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I love this recipe. My only change is to reduce the butter by half, otherwise I felt the recipe tasted too buttery. But it's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 912) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States