Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Awesome! Just the way it is! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Yum! Exactly what I wanted! Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This soup was really tasty but I would definitely put a lot less basil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I have made this several times now following the recipe exactly and it is fantastic! The first couple of times I did not peel the tomatoes but my Ninja blender always left some peel behind so now I peel and it is much better. So unless you have a Vitamix, I would recommend peeling. Several people have mentioned it being fattening but I live a low carb lifestyle and have lost 22 lbs while enjoying this delicious soup! I always use fresh ingredients. I might have to try using organic canned tomatoes though so I can have it more often as peeling and seeding can be time consuming. UPDATE: It's equally fantastic and much less time consuming using canned tomatoes (I used fire roasted) and a hand held immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
5 stars for simplicity and taste. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Am I the only person who had problems with the cream curdling?? I substituted half and half for the heavy whipping cream, but it sounds like many others have done the same without having this problem. Any suggestions? Should I heat up the half and half before pouring it into the soup? Also, if you're going to used canned tomatoes, go ahead and blend your mixture while it is still cool to avoid burning yourself and turning your kitchen into a scene from "Psycho."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
After 14 years of competing in the family soup off i finally won with this soup. I made a few minor adjustments i used half fresh plum tomatoes and half fire roasted canned tomatoes ( in jersey we don't really eat tomatoes after season) it was excellent. Ah the thrill of victory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This soup tastes exactly like the wonderful creamy tomato basil soups served at some restaurants... Sometimes though, I prefer to make a soup that is lighter on the cream, and use the Jersey Fresh tomato soup recipe... I have gotten rave reviews over both of them... absolutely delicious soups!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I made one change to this soup, I used half the amount of butter to cut the calories. This soup tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doveyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 874) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States