Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
DANG. That is some tasty soup. But, and I realize I'm going wildly against consensus here, I could have done with just a little less fat. I made it with the full amounts of butter and cream, and you know, maybe just a little less of one or the other (maybe both?) might have made it a little less heavy. I was uncomfortably full after a bowl. But it was deeeee-licious for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I altered the recipe and used one 28oz crushed tomatoes and 3, 14oz diced tomatoes including the juice from all. No tomato juice needed. I added 2 cans of tomato paste as well. I blended 1 can of the diced tomatoes, fresh basil, 3/4 of an onion and 2 cloves of garlic and added that to the tomatoes. I also added 3/4 cup of parmesan cheese, cut back on the cream by 1/2 cup and only added 1/4c butter. It was AMAZING!!! I broiled some provolone cheese on a baguette and everyone was raving about dinner tonight. Cannot wait for leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasXXX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Way too much basil and not as creamy as I was hoping. Next time I will try 3 cups tomato juice and 5 basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
THIS IS AMAZING!!! Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmInMontana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
i used this as kind of a base recipe. i added diced zucchini, diced carrots and teeny cheese ravioli. was trying to recreate a soup i had at work and this was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made a super big triple batch of this soup this afternoon using roma tomatoes. The only change I made was use two cups of whipping cream and one cup half and half (instead of three cups whipping cream). Rich and delicious!! Will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Easy and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was DELISH! So tastey. I used probably 10 basil leaves and next time I would use even less. I prefer more tomato than basil flavor but it was still quite amazing. I also didn't peel the tomatoes, it wasn't necessary with my hand blender, no chucks or peels leftover. I can't wait to make it again & plan to make a bigger batch to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This soup was amazing! I followed the recipe exactly except I added some garlic powder. I garnished it with cheddar goldfish and fresh grated Parmesan cheese. Truly delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 878) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States