Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I love this soup! I have made is several times and it has turned out awesome every time! The local market was out of fresh basil one time and I substituted 2 1/2 TBS of dried basil, still awesome! If you really want to take it to another level, add 1 pound of cooked crispy bacon to the soup. That's right, I said a pound of bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marty lane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I've made this several times now. It is very good. I like to add about a tsp. of minced garlic, a dash of red pepper flakes and some dried sweet basil along with fresh basil leaves. If my tomatoes aren't quite ripe enough I do add a little sugar. We always serve this soup with grilled cheese sandwiches. Perfect for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very yummy, but a little too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Wow! First time making this and it is amazing! Like a fancy bistro..but better! I followed the recipe with some tweaks. I used 5 vine ripe tomatoes and using tongs held them by the vine in boiling water so the skins would fall off. Didn't bother de-seeding either. In Step 1 above, I also added a TB of chopped jar garlic, some dried oregano and the salt & pepper to simmer for the 30 mins. I added about 20 leaves of fresh basil when I pureed it. In Step 2, I cut the butter and heavy cream in half. Love it...SUPER TASTY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I used jarred tomatoes (specialty) w tomato juice. No fresh basil in the house so I used frozen basil 'cubes'. Found in your freezer section. 10 small cubes, 1 cube = 1 tsp basil. Used NO butter (found it didn't need it) and used 1/2 and 1/2 (fat free). Salt and pepper to taste. Was super rich and creamy. Was less than 1 cup of half and half. Perfect paired with grilled cheese sandwich on french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I'm not sure why it got bad reviews! I made a half recipe for my husband and I and it was more than enough. Instead of using fresh tomatoes, I just bought 2 cans of tomatoes and I used V8 Tomato juice. It turned out super sweet and super good! I also added garlic which brought out the taste of the tomatoes and the basil. This soup is a definite must-have for anyone who participates with lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I did substitute half and half for the heavy cream. I (who loves cream) felt it would have been better with the heavy cream. Dh (who does not like cream, butter, etc.) said it was perfect. Even with half and half, it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I'm not a huge tomato fan but I tried this one for my family. I peeled the tomatoes and removed the seeds. After adding the cream and butter, I found the flavor too tomato-y (maybe it was the tomatoes I got). I whipped up some of the remaining cream, added sugar to the cream and then put in a couple of dollops to balance. My son told me, "it doesn't look like tomato soup but it sure tastes like it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mztry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
WOW! Best tomato soup ever. My husband and I were amazed at how great this was! I made the recipe as is - although I did use Roma tomatoes and ended up doubling the amount of tomatoes called for due to their smaller size. This is now going to be our go to recipe! Thank-you so much for a great recipe!! If you are making this - do not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Just made this and it's delish'! The only thing I would change is that I put the tomatoes, tomato juice, and basil in the blender before cooking. I just pulsed it until smooth. I used two cans of San Marzano tomatoes in juice and one can of tomato sauce. I used two table spoons of dried basil instead of the fresh basil. Aside from this things this recipe is perfect as is! A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States