Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I love this recipe! I will use it over and over and over again! I did not use a half cup of butter that just seemed like a lot. I only used a table spoon full of butter and that seemed plenty. Also I added a little more basil because I love love love basil! A great pairing for this soup is a ceasar salad and a glass of red wine (cabernet or merlot) ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Really good. I did not peel or seed. Regretted it later. After it was finished, due to my not following recipe, I had to put it through a food mill. MY FAULT. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is by far the best recipe. I have just finished making, amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I found this soup very disappointing. First, of all it took 1 1/2 hours to make, not 45 minutes. The prep took 1/2 hour. Second, although it tasted delicious, I got one of the worst cases of Acid Reflux I've ever had. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I followed the recipe perfectly but I added chopped garlic for some extra taste. With our without the garlic, this is easily one of my favorites because it is so simple and comes out OH SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
For all those worried about calories, relax. Why? How many calories are in the tomatoes? Then, take the calories from the cream and butter and basil, and it isn't near as much as it seems. I used basil from my garden. Perhaps we are light on it, but it made more than 4 servings when eating with moderation -- unless you eat nothing else. It is a beautiful, rich soup. AT least as good as Panera's from my point of view. I made it as is and was delighted -- as were my three teen boys and husband. I have also tried it with adding a pinch of ancho pepper, ground fennel, bit of onion, bit of garlic, bit of celery salt, a 2 tsp of sugar. That version was yummy. This is great as is, and one can adjust and play with the add-ins. Depending on what you have with it, you can be wonderfully creative. Definitely makes a great soup with grilled cheese sandwiches. I started thinking of all of the different foods they serve at Panera that go with soup!! Lots to enjoy. Excellent soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
It's really good. Wife and kids loved it and can be picky at times. I'm not a cook by any means and this was easy to make. I substituted the fresh tomatoes for diced canned tomatoes to make it easier. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
To much of a basil flavor. If was to make again would cut the basil in half at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Fowles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Made garlic naan with this soup - delish! I bought Target's tomato juice and used fresh ground pepper and sea salt. If you don't have an immersion blender, then ladle into a blender. You'll have to double the recipe, because it will be lapped up in no time! I generously poured the cream, and used the full stick of butter, and didn't find it too rich. The kick comes from the basil, which in my case, was fresh picked and quite minty. It is just tart enough to remind you it has a load of vitamin C, but still be enjoyable. BTW - don't follow the advice of the reviewers who put the entire tomato without removing the seeds, unless you like chewing through seed pieces in every spoonful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Airmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 881) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States