Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Holy smokes, this one's a winner! I made a few changes -- used water instead of chicken broth, added a tablespoon of chopped fresh rosemary, and added a clove of pressed garlic just before serving. I used half and half instead of cream, but it was still deliciously rich. I can't wait to serve this one to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
The second time I made this was Sept. 11. I wanted something comforting and we had a bounty of eggplant and tomatoes in our garden. My husband was a manager of a 5 star restaurant, and he says it's better than the soup his celebrated chef made. I served it in italian bread bowls which is also available on allrecipe.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This was the tastiest soup I've ever made!! I ended up using milk instead of cream because I didn't have any on hand, and it still came out great. The garlic is mild but you can still taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I give this four without what I added. It was very good, but needed a little something for me. I added a couple cloves of garlic, some red pepper flakes, and at the end- about a tablespoon of lemon juice to brighten it. Goos without these things, but I have my personal tastes. Thanks for something new to do with eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This is the best soup I've ever made. I highly recommend it. I used olive oil instead of the vegetable oil, and used dry Middle Eastern thyme (mixed with sesame seed) instead of the fresh thyme. I also did not use the goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weaam

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Wow, I am impressed! I hardly ever give reviews, but I was compelled to take the time to recommend this recipe. I have 6 kids and a husband, all of whom are hard to please at one time or another. Everyone loved this soup! I was pleasantly surprised by the flavor and my family's willingness and even eagerness to eat it and to have seconds. I won't change a thing in this recipe and will use it each fall as eggplants come into season. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
For those who love garlic - this is for you!! YUM! Added a little rosemary and some cubed chicken for "girls night in" and substituted evap. milk for cream. Success! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This has great flavor! I've had a similiar soup at a local gormet market and this was just as good! I read other reviews and decided to add a roasted red bell pepper 1 tsp of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This recipe is from Giada de Laurentiis's show Everyday Italian on Food Network. I saw her make it & it seemed easy enough. I made it myself & it was easy plus delicious! We're soup nuts around here & this has become a regular on the "rotation".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Very good and full of flavor! Be sure to use good in season tomatos or sub with canned ones. Also watch the garlic while roasting. It will brown faster than everything else. I learned this after it was already black. I skipped the cream as I thought the soup tasted great without the exta fat and added cayenne pepper and a squeeze of lemon. This was so yummy! The goat cheese sent it over the top! A very decedant soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States