Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
It was ok...but something just wasn't right. I love the sweetness of the roasted eggplant and garlic though. The texture isn't completely smooth even after pureeing because of the eggplant seeds. I was really quite a bit better the next day. The day I made it I was thinking I wouldn't make the recipe again...but after having the left overs I'd possible give it another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was really good! The only change I made was only adding 1/2 cup heavy cream instead of a full cup. It was very satisfying! Goat cheese was good on top, but Parmesan cheese would also taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brisbane, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Really yummy! I used a bit less broth (2 cans) and I used veggie broth. I didn't have thyme so I used coriander. I also added some cayenne pepper. The eggplant takes longer to roast, next time I'll put it and the onions in first, then add the tomatoes and garlic halfway through. The goat cheese on top is so awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Very yummy and unique soup, easily made vegetarian by using veg broth instead of chicken. Next time I will give it an Indian slant by using curry spices instead of the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keflavík, Suðurnes, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I was tasting the whole way through and it was nothing special but it all came together at the end into something really delicious. I made some slight variations: used 4 long Chinese eggplants, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 1/2 tbsp thyme, 1/2 tbsp Italian seasoning, water instead of broth, light cream instead of heavy cream and skipped the goat cheese. I served it in rosemary breadbowls. Will definitely keep this in my winter recipe roster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was quite good. The only change I made was to substitute plain greek yogurt for the heavy cream to reduce the fat. The yogurt seemed to complement the eggplant, garlic, and tomato flavors quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Perfection in a bowl! This tastes like fall. One thing I would suggest after pureeing, is to drain through a siv to get rid of the tomato seed.s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is one of my favorite soups! When I served it to my mom, she requested the recipe. If I don't have fresh thyme, I use dried Italian herbs. Sometimes I substitute milk for the cream, but it's important to remember to add it at the very end, not before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This roasted soup tastes warm and earthy. It smells amazing when roasting, too. Great low-sodium low-fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States