Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was so-so. in my opinion. Mine was too watery and the goat cheese didn't really do much to perk up the flavor. Next time I'd use 2 eggplants instead of 1 and use parm instead of goat cheese. I'd try it again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Very tasty!! I used 1/2 light cream and 1/2 milk to reduce the fat. I will go with even more milk next time. I didn't remove the seeds from the tomatoes, but should have. I ended up straining the soup after it was pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This soup was pretty good. Would have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
It was good, but not great. I followed the directions exactly, but added some fresh rosemary. It's missing something....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was very good! I followed the recipe since this was my first try. I only have one suggestion. Cook the eggplant twice as long and at 325-350 degrees. My onions were starting to burn before I felt the eggplant was soft enough. I finally fished them, the tomato & the garlic out of the pan and let the eggplant finish. I did use 2% instead of cream. 2% IS cream to us! Forgot the cheese at the end, so that will be on the left overs. All-in-all my husband and I really liked it. Thanks for sharing this! Eggplant soup was a new one to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I doubled this recipe, using two eggplant but instead of six tomatoes I just used four. I halved the heavy cream and used skim milk to make up the difference. Added a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes and cayenne for some heat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This soup is amazing. I used whipping cream instead of heavy cream and it came out fantastic. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinbaird
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great soup. I did do some changes to the recipe. I added a red pepper and carrots to the roast mixture . Instead of cream I added skim milk and used grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pilot Butte, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is a good and interesting soup. I made this for my father and he doesn`t care for goat cheese, so I omitted it, but I would definitely use goat cheese in this soup. I used water instead of chicken broth and added rosemary and basil too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I love this soup! Who knew eggplant could taste so good?! I have to admit the appearance of this soup is not so appealing, but one taste will convince you! My soup was rather thin, so after my first taste, I added some red lentils, which thickened it nicely and complimented the flavors well. Reheated well in microwave for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States